Expo 2005 World Exposition - Aichi 2005

Wisdom and nature

March 25, 2005 - September 25, 2005


Back - List of Pavilions

Nagakute Aichi Pavilion

Aichi Prefecture, a host of EXPO 2005, sees this exhibition as a driving force for the future that will lead to the development of new communities, and proposes an "eco-communal" based society aimed at finding solutions, from a regional perspective, to the environmental issues facing the world. The Aichi Prefecture is planning two pavilions with environmental messages in the Nagakute and Seto Areas: the Nagakute Aichi Pavilion and the Seto Aichi Pavilion.

The Nagakute Aichi Pavilion was designed in a Japanese style based on the motif of flower chariots that symbolise the traditional culture of Aichi Prefecture. The theme of the pavilion is "Revolution of Environmental Industries". "Environmental Industry Revolution" is a phrase coined by Kazuma Yamane, the General Producer of the Aichi Pavilions, to describe an environmentally-oriented industrial revolution. This pavilion will combine the proud heritage of Aichi's craftsmen with the latest technology to provide a new industrial mechanism with environmental protection as its pillar.

The welcome monument that will greet visitors from the pavilion roof is the "Directional Dancing Tower with Automaton Shows "Karakuri"". It consists of three 18-metre-high steel towers with a giant central stage lit by Japanese lanterns. There, a mechanical doll (representing a Chinese child) pulling a "Shinansha" (a cart pointing south) will perform dynamic acrobatics. This monument combines state-of-the-art industrial technologies with traditional mechanism techniques, the basis of Aichi's rich craft tradition.

About 20 live performances called "Save our Planet! "will take place daily on the pavilion stage, totalling 3,000 performances during EXPO 2005. The 20-minute show features Dr. Mamoru Econo, a scientist who sounds the alarm about climate change. Iceman, the other main character, is a frozen mummy who has woken up to the greenhouse effect after 5,300 years of sleep, and is amazed at the dramatic changes he sees in the environment. Both bring a message about the greenhouse effect to the public.

Then, at the exhibition "Japan's Eco-Technology and the Great Wall Painting of Aichi Industries", the history and near future of Aichi's crafts, going back to the Edo period (1603-1867), will be presented through paintings on a giant golden scroll 7 metres high and 25 metres long. Visitors will also be able to glimpse, through viewing holes under the scroll, clean energy systems that will preserve the Earth's future environment.

© Japan Association for the 2005 World Exposition

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Pavillon d'Aichi de Nagakuté



Le Département d’Aichi, un hôte de l’EXPO 2005, considère cette exposition comme une force motrice pour l’avenir qui conduira au développement de nouvelles communautés, et propose une société à base « éco-commnautaire » visant à trouver des solutions, dans une perspective régionale, aux questions environnementales auxquelles le monde est confronté. Le Département d’Aichi prévoit deux pavillons qui présentent messages environnementals dans l’Aire de Nagakuté et l’Aire de Seto : Pavillon d’Aichi de Nagakuté et Pavillon d’Aichi de Seto.

Le Pavillon d’Aichi de Nagakuté a été conçu dans un style japonais basé sur le motif des chars fleuris qui symbolisent la culture traditionnelle du Département d’Aichi. Le thème de ce pavillon est « Révolution des industries de l’environnement ». « Révolution des industries de l’environnement » est une expression conçue par Kazuma Yamane, le Producteur général des Pavillons d’Aichi pour décrire une révolution industrielle axée sur l’environnement. Ce pavillon combinera le fier héritage des artisans d’Aichi avec la technologie de pointe pour proposer un nouveau mécanisme industriel ayant comme pilier la protection de l’environnement.

Le monument de bienvenue qui accueillera les visiteurs du toit du pavillon est la « Tour dansante directionnelle avec spectacles d’automates “Karakuri” ». Elle comprend trois tours en acier de 18 mètres de hauteur avec une scène centrale géante éclairée par des lanterns japonaises. Là une poupée mécanique (représentant un enfant chinois) tirant un « Shinansha » (chariot pointant vers le Sud) effectuera des acrobaties dynamiques. Ce monument allie des technologies industrielles à la pointe du progrès aux techniques traditionnelles des mécanismes, base de la riche tradition artisanale d’Aichi.

Environ 20 performances live appelées « Sauvons notre planète! » auront lieu tous les jours sur la scène du pavillon, soit un total de 3 000 spectacles pendant l’EXPO 2005. Le spectacle de 20 minutes met en scène le Dr. Mamoru Econo, un scientifique qui lance un cri d’alarme concernant les changements climatiques. Iceman, l’autre personnage principal, est une momie gelée qui s’est réveillée à cause de l’effet de serre après 5 300 ans de sommeil, et qui est étonnée des changements importants qu’elle voit dans l’environnement. Les deux apportent au public un message sur l’effet de serre.

Ensuite, à l’exposition « Eco-technologie du Japon et la Grande peinture murale des industries d’Aichi », l’histoire et le futur proche de l’artisanat d’Aichi, en remontant à la période d’Edo (1603–1867), sera présenté par des peintures sur un rouleau doré géant de 7 mètres de haut sur 25 mètres de long. Les visiteurs pourront aussi entrevoir, à travers des trous d’observation situés sous le rouleau, des systèmes énergétiques propres qui préserveront l’environnement futur de la Terre.

© Japan Association for the 2005 World Exposition