Expo 2005 World Exposition - Aichi 2005

Wisdom and nature

March 25, 2005 - September 25, 2005


Back - List of Pavilions

Bio Lung

"Bio Lung" is a combination of two words - "Bio" meaning life and "Lung" which is necessary for us to live. Right in front of the Expo Plaza will rise the "Bio Lung", a vertical wall filled with flowers and plants. With a height of 4.5 to 15 metres, a length of 150 metres and a surface area of 3,500 m2, it is clearly highlighted by the mist and light of the night show. More than 200 types of plants and flowers are planted in this large wall and for a total of over 200,000 pots. It must be the largest green wall in the world.

"Lung Bio" was made in order to improve the environment of the busy areas of the city, where huge amount of CO2 is emitted and causes serious problems like the global warming phenomenon or heat island phenomenon. Because we have developed our land without thinking about keeping nature, now we are facing many natural disasters caused by the increase of global temperature - the result of the lack of consideration for our planet. Now we have to think how we can solve this problem and regain the balanced environment that was used to be here in our land of years.
Nowadays, there are few flat lands left to grow plants. Lung Bio was born to give an idea to introduce plants in areas with very dense buildings where there is more nature. Because the soil base is fixed vertically and the plants are planted there, we were able to make the most of the building area and build "wall plant structures" such as soundproof walls along roads or fences around schools, in urban organic features. As a result, it must be ensured that there will be some decrease in temperature which will be one of our contributions to mitigate environmental problems.

Construction of the Bio Lung System
The construction of the Bio Lung System is built on reusable steel reinforced structures. Various types of 1350mm multi-purpose green panel modules can be attached to these 1500mm mesh base structures. This type of freestanding structure is designed to be able to function in any type of urban environment, and incorporates a rear access, which can be used for maintenance. The Bio Lung Tower in the centre is 25 metres high and is the emblem of EXPO 2005 Aichi, symbolising the wisdom of nature and the meaning of the Japanese characters (? ai) Love and (? Chikyuu) Earth.

Bio Lung" designs
The design of the "Bio Lung" green screen connects the many natural features of Japan, from gardens in rural villages and in the mountains. While the display shows as many varieties of Japanese plants as possible. The exhibition was made to give visitors a feeling that "Japan's beautiful landscapes coexist with the natural world".

Fog fountains and lightning systems
Bio Lung has introduced a series of technical innovations that can be used to build more attractive urban landscapes, while at the same time relieving pressure on the environment. Some examples of these technical innovations are automatic sprinkler systems, water activation systems and mist fountains, while using recycled water, as well as LED lighting systems that consume less energy and are not harmful to plants.

Bio lung experiment
All kinds of measuring equipment, such as thermometers and hygrometers, have been set up to continuously analyse the Bio Lung. The data collected is constantly displayed on the screen that is attached to the Bio Lung pavilion. After the Expo closes, all the data will be discussed at the committee meeting and used for the promotion of green wall in many cities and places.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Bio Lung


«Bio Lung" est la combinaison de deux mots - «Bio» qui signifie vie et «poumon»(Lung en anglais) qui est nécessaire pour nous de vivre. Juste en face de l'Expo Plaza se lèvera le « Bio Lung », un mur vertical rempli de fleurs et de plantes. Avec une hauteur allant de 4,5 à 15 mètres, d’une longueur de 150 mètres, et 3.500 m2 de surface, il est nettement mis en évidence par la brume et la lumière au spectacle nocturne. Plus de 200 types de plantes et les fleurs sont plantées dans ce grand mur et pour un total de plus de 200 000 pots. Il doit être le plus grand mur vert au le monde.

« Lung Bio » a été fait dans le but d'améliorer l'environnement des zones animées de la ville, où quantité énorme de CO2 est émis et provoque de graves problèmes comme le phénomène de réchauffement climatique ou phénomène d'îlot de chaleur. Parce que nous avons développé notre terre sans penser à garder la nature, maintenant nous faisons face à beaucoup de catastrophes naturelles causées par l'augmentation de la température mondiale - le résultat du manque de considération pour notre planète. Maintenant, nous devons penser à comment nous pouvons résoudre ce problème et de retrouver l'environnement équilibré qui a été utilisé pour être ici dans notre terre d'années.
De nos jours, il ya peu de terrains plats laissés faire pousser des plantes. Lung Bio est né pour donner une idée d'introduire des plantes dans les zones avec des bâtiments très denses où il ya plus de nature. Parce que la base de sol est fixé verticalement et les plantes sont plantées là, nous avons pu profiter au maximum de la zone de bâtiments et de construire «structures végétales murales» tels que des murs insonorisés le long des routes ou des clôtures autour des écoles, dans les dispositifs organiques urbains. À la suite de cela, il doit être sûr qu'il y aura une certaine baisse de la température qui sera l'une de nos contributions pour atténuer les problèmes environnementaux.

Construction du Système « Bio Lung »
La construction du système « Bio Lung » est construit sur des structures renforcées d'acier réutilisables. Différents types de 1350mm à usages multiples de modules de panneaux verts peuvent être attachés à ces structures de base grillagé de 1500mm. Ce type de structure indépendante est conçu pour être en mesure de fonctionner dans n'importe quel type d'environnement urbain, et intègre un accès arrière, qui peut être utilisé pour la maintenance. Le Tour « Bio Lung » au centre est de 25 mètres de haut et est l'emblème de l'EXPO 2005 Aichi, symbolisant la sagesse de la nature et la signification des caractères japonais (? ai) Amour et (?? Chikyuu) de la Terre.

Designs du « Bio Lung »
La conception de l’écran de verdure du « Bio Lung » relie les nombreuses caractéristiques naturelles du Japon, des jardins dans les villages ruraux et dans les montagnes. Pendant que l'écran présente autant de variétés de plantes japonaises que possible. L'exposition a été réalisée pour offrir aux visiteurs une sensation que « les beaux paysages du Japon coexistent avec le monde naturel».

Fontaines de brouillard et les systèmes de foudre
Bio Lung a introduit une série d'innovations techniques qui peuvent être utilisées pour construire des paysages urbains plus attrayants, alors que dans le même temps soulager la pression sur l'environnement. Quelques exemples de ces innovations techniques sont les systèmes de gicleurs automatiques, systèmes d'activation de l'eau et des fontaines brume, tout en utilisant de l'eau recyclée, ainsi que des systèmes d'éclairage à LED qui consomment moins d'énergie et ne sont pas nuisibles pour les plantes.

Expérience au « Bio lung »
Toutes sortes d'équipements de mesure, tels que les thermomètres et les hygromètres, ont été mis en place pour analysés en permanence le Bio Lung. Les données recueillies sont constamment affichée sur l'écran qui est fixé au pavillon du Bio Lung. Après la fermeture de l'Expo, toutes les données seront examinées à la réunion du comité et utilisées pour la promotion de mur vert dans de nombreuses villes et lieux.