Back - List of Pavilions

Netherlands - Expo Aichi 2005

The Netherlands, with its small size, has always explored wise ways for sustainable development. With a long history of intervening in nature and fighting floods to ensure a healthy quality of life, the Netherlands is well suited to using geographical circumstances to develop its economic potential.
More broadly, water plays an important role in the life of the Netherlands today. Therefore, the Netherlands has chosen the "Land of Water" as the central theme for EXPO 2005. The Dutch pavilion has an impressive exterior façade made of a Delft tile structure (with blue images on the white tiles) and colossal tulips hanging on each side of the pavilion. Delft tiles, typical of traditional Dutch crafts, are also present inside the pavilion. The surrounding walls are covered with blue "Delft" tiles presenting a typical Dutch view - a panorama of the Amsterdam facade style, which is the largest hand-painted oil painting in the world.
The atrium has a huge pond in the centre, which functions as a media support. Visitors are invited to gather around the pond to enjoy an audiovisual presentation about "Holland: Land of Water" for about seven minutes. This presentation will portray the importance of a balance between man and nature from the unique perspective of the Netherlands, which has constantly tackled the challenges on the border between land and water. As such, it sheds light on a quintessential balance between man and nature, and between land and water through the evolution of the Netherlands with water.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Pays-Bas


Les Pays Bas, avec leur faible superficie, ont toujours exploré des moyens sages pour le développement durable. Avec une longue histoire de l'intervention dans la nature et le combat contre les inondations pour garantir une qualité de vie saine, les pays bas sont propices pour utiliser les circonstance géographiques pour développer leur potentiel économique.
Plus largement, l'eau participe pour beaucoup dans la vie les Pays Bas à aujourd'hui. Par conséquent, les Pays Bas ont choisi la "terre de l'eau" comme thème central pour l'EXPO 2005. Le pavillon des Pays Bas a une façade extérieure impressionnante fait avec une structure de tuile de "Delft" (avec des images bleues sur les tuiles blanches) et des tulipes colossales pendant de chaque coté du pavillon. Les tuiles de « delft », tipiques des métiers traditionnels de Pays Bas sont également présentent à l'intérieur du pavillon. Les murs environnants sont couverts de carreaux de céramique bleus de "Delft" présentant une vue typique des Pays Bas - un panorama du style des façades d'Amsterdam, qui est le plus grand tableau à l’huile peint à la main dans le monde.
L’atrium a un étang énorme au centre, qui fonctionne comme un support de média. Des visiteurs sont invités à se réunir autour de l'étang pour apprécier une présentation audiovisuelle au sujet de la "Hollande : Terre de l'eau "pendant environ sept minutes. Cette présentation dépeindra l'importance d'un équilibre entre l'homme et la nature du point de vue unique des Pays Bas, qui s'est constamment attaqué aux défis sur la frontière entre la terre et l'eau. En tant que tels, il jette la lumière sur un équilibre quintessenciel entre l'homme et la nature, et entre la terre et l'eau à travers l’évolution des Pays-Bas avec l’eau.