Back - List of Pavilions

Germany - Expo Aichi 2005

The theme of the German pavilion was "Bionis" proposing the coexistence of nature and technology. "Bionis" was named after bionics, a study to apply natural principles to technology. Based on a communication-oriented concept, the pavilion was a type of experiment with simple explanations, allowing visitors to gain easy knowledge on the subject.

The main item on display in the pavilion was an orbital system, called a "Ride", consisting of state-of-the-art equipment weighing 150 tons. The orbit, running on several levels and totalling 300 metres in length, was traversed by transparent water-drop shaped shuttles called "Experience Drop". Six people could board the shuttle at the same time and they departed at 45 second intervals, moving throughout the pavilion, allowing visitors to see a variety of scenes and exhibits while seated. At first, the shuttle passed through a large, dark and quiet cavern, and then plunged under the sea and up into the heavens, awakening its passengers' five senses. They could also see multimedia scenes, animations and aeroplane wings built with normal evolution, and experience spectacular scenes such as lightning and thunder.
The "Experience Drop" reached the final exhibition area, the "experience laboratory," where exhibition items and two-way communication media were present and where each visitor could participate in the "Bionis" experiences.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Allemagne


Le thème du pavillon allemand était "Bionis" proposant la coexistence entre la nature et la technologie. "Bionis" était baptisé du nom de la bionique, une étude pour appliquer les principes naturels à la technologie. Basé sur un concept orienté communication, le pavillon était un type d'expérience avec des explications simples, permettant aux visiteurs d'obtenir une connaissance aisée sur la sujet.

Le principal article exposé dans le pavillon était un système orbital, appelé "Ride" (promenade) composé d’un équipement de pointe pesant 150 tonnes. L’orbite, courant sur plusieurs niveaux et totalisant 300 mètres de long, était parcouru par des navettes transparentes en forme de goute d’eau nommées « Experience Drop». Six personnes pouvaient monter dans la navette en même temps et ces dernières partaient à des intervalles de 45 secondes, se déplaçant dans tout le pavillon, permettant ainsi aux visiteurs de voir une variété de scènes et d'objets exposés tout en restant assis. Au début, la navette passait par une grande caverne sombre et tranquille, et puis plongeait sous la mer et montait aux cieux, éveillant ainsi à ses passagers leurs cinq sens. Ils pouvaient également voir des scènes multimédia, des animations et des ailes d'avion construits avec l'évolution normale, et éprouver des scènes spectaculaires telles que la foudre et le tonnerre.
La " Experience Drop " atteignait la zone finale d'exposition, le "laboratoire d'expérience," où les articles d'exposition et les médias de communication bi-directionnels étaient présents et où chaque visiteur pouvait participer aux expériences de "Bionis".