Expo 2005 World Exposition - Aichi 2005

Wisdom and nature

March 25, 2005 - September 25, 2005


Back - List of Pavilions

Sri Lanka

The exhibition aimed to present Sri Lanka as the cradle of a unique natural, religious and cultural setting initiated through the unique art and architecture practiced by the Theravada Buddhist. The Theravada school of Buddhism has immensely rich traditions that should endear itself to any art loving visitor. The exhibition also featured Sri Lanka's traditional handicrafts, including gem cutting, which have given identity to Sri Lanka's heritage.
Colourful 6-metre long traditional flags were hung against the pavilion's façade, and three of Relipalam's "entrance vaults" decorated with red and white muslin greeted visitors to the pavilion.
Upon entering the exhibition hall, visitors had a unique opportunity to see 1,000 square metres of handmade batik on the ceiling. Each 1 square metre batik panel was illuminated from above, depicting many traditional Sri Lankan art motifs.
Visitors entering the exhibition hall saw a large copper sculpture symbolising the "Sri Maha Bodhi," the oldest historical tree in the world. It is the southern branch of the Pipul tree that provided shade for the Buddha at the time of enlightenment, brought to Sri Lanka and planted in the historic capital of Anuradhapura in the 3rd century. The Sri Maha Bodhi has been venerated and protected by Sinhala Buddhists to this day and has generated a unique Buddhist tradition of worship.
To the visitor's right was displayed a main object depicting a life-size Buddhist tomb of a typical traditional village on pillars built with wood and mud containing three Buddha statues. Its walls were painted with events from the life of Buddha and Jataka stories of Buddha's previous births.
There were also exhibits to show how medicinal herbs are used for healthy living. There were samples of traditional medicinal oils from 1,000 years ago, indigenous medical practices that have treated many human ailments. There were also exhibits to show the Sri Lankan practice of harnessing the wisdom of nature for the benefit of humanity. In addition, the exhibition had large panels depicting the tradition and culture of Sri Lanka, the beauty of nature, the glory of a 2,500 year old civilisation, the Sri Lankan way of life, and the creativity of local artists.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Sri Lanka


L'exposition visait à présenter le Sri Lanka comme berceau d’un cadre naturel, religieux et culturel unique initié à travers l'art et l'architecture uniques pratiquées par le bouddhiste de Theravada. L'école de Theravada du bouddhisme a les traditions immensément riches qui devraient se faire aimer à n'importe quel visiteur affectueux de l’art. L'exposition présentait également les travaux manuels traditionnels de Sri Lanka, y compris le découpage de gemme, qui ont donné l'identité à l'héritage de Sri Lanka.
Des drapeaux traditionnels colorés de 6 mètres de long étaient accrochés contre la façade du pavillon, et trois "des voûtes d'entrée de Relipalam" décorées de la mousseline rouge et blanche saluaient les visiteurs du pavillon.
En entrant dans le hall d'exposition, les visiteurs avaient une occasion unique de voir 1.000 mètres carrés de batik au plafond le tout réalisé à la main. Chaque panneau de batik de 1 mètre carré était éclairé par le dessus, et dépeignait beaucoup de motifs traditionnels d'art du Sri Lanka.
Les visiteurs entrant dans le hall d'exposition voyait une grande sculpture en cuivre symbolisant le "Sri Maha Bodhi," l'arbre historique le plus ancien dans le monde. C'est la branche méridionale de l'arbre de Pipul qui a fourni l'ombre au Bouddha à l'heure de l'éclaircissement, apporté au Sri Lanka et planté dans la capitale historique d'Anuradhapura au 3ème siècle. Le Sri Maha Bodhi a été vénéré et protégé par les bouddhistes de Sinhala jusqu'à ce jour et a généré une tradition bouddhiste unique de culte.
À la droite du visiteur était exposé un objet principal représentant en taille réelle un tombeau bouddhiste d’un village traditionnel typique sur des piliers construits avec du bois et la boue contenait trois statues de Bouddha. Ses murs étaient peints avec des événements de la vie de Bouddha et des histoires de Jataka relatant les naissances précédentes de Bouddha.
Il y avait également des objets exposés pour montrer comment des herbes médicinales sont employées pour une vie saine. Il y avait des échantillons d'huiles médicinales traditionnelles de 1.000 ans, les pratiques médicales indigènes qui ont traité beaucoup de maux humains. Il y avait également des objets exposés pour montrer la pratique Sri Lankaise en matière d’exploitation la sagesse de la nature au profit de l'humanité. En outre, l'exposition comportait des grands panneaux qui dépeignaient la tradition et la culture du Sri Lanka, la beauté de la nature, la gloire d'une civilisation vieille de 2500 ans, la manière de la vie du Sri Lanka, et la créativité des artistes locaux.