Back - List of Pavilions

Garcia de Orta Gardens - Expo Lisbon 1998

Garcia de Orta Gardens at the Exhibition Expo Lisbon 1998
© Expo'98
Architect(s) : J Gomes da Silva, L Cheis, R Salema, I Norton, J Adriao

The Garcia de Orta Gardens form an extension of the Promenade along the Tagus River, leading to the restaurant area and the North International Space.

There are six successive gardens, each 25 metres wide. The plants chosen for these different gardens recreate the vegetal atmosphere of the various regions visited by the Portuguese on their voyages across the oceans: Macau, Goa, Timor, Mozambique, Sao Tome and Principe, Cape Verde, Madeira, Brazil, and the Bay of Moçâmedes in Angola. In all, there are 400 different species offered by the regions and countries that have joined the project.

These gardens are, in short, an open-air pavilion and celebrate botanical exchange as part of a wider adventure, that of the Discoveries. They are symbolically associated with the name of the Portuguese physician and botanist Garcia de Orta (1501-1568), the author of Colôquios dos Simples e ùrogos e Cousos Medicinais da îndia, who lived in India for 30 years and compiled the first Western register of oriental plants.

The selection of the vegetation was a joint effort between the Higher Institute of Agronomy, the Institute of Scientific and Tropical Research and botanists from the regions and countries represented. The project was coordinated by the landscape architect Cristina Castel-Branco and the design of the lakes, pavements, walls and fountains is the responsibility of the architects Joao Gomes da Silva and Ines Norton de Matos.

The materials in each garden have been studied to suggest the regions and countries represented: wood in the "tea pavilion" in Coloane, red pumice and basalt from the volcanoes of the Azores or sand from the African deserts.

The Timor garden is the first, and as an entrance hall it is very simple:
It tells the story of the sandalwood that once covered the island of Timor and it also tells of the plants that have adapted so well to the Portuguese climate, such as the eucalyptus and casuarina.

The vegetation of Macau, of the temperate and warm forest, is dense, dominated by shrubs (Tetropox, Melastono,...), partially covered by trees (Gingko bilobo, Magnolia stellata, Bombax ceiba) and marked by clumps of bamboo. The path is made on wooden platforms, one of which forms a bridge that crosses the lake where rice has been sown.

The Goa garden has a marble basin in the centre, which receives water from a canal running through it. A wooden portico allows one to appreciate the garden as a whole, where one notices the orange trees brought from China by the Portuguese and acclimatised in Goa before their entry into Europe. A row of Caryotas urens (palm trees) gives it a tropical character.

The garden which contains the vegetation of Sao Tome (dense and humid forest) presents first the meliguette and is covered by a structure used to make shade; rows of banana trees and the Logenaria.

Between Sao Tome and Principe and Brazil, a waterfall with three vertical sides of water flows. Plants from Brazil have long since become part of Lisbon's ornamental vegetation, such as bougainvilleas, jacarandas, Chorizi and Tipuanas. There are also other plants that flower strongly and are humidified by fogging.

Macaronesian vegetation (Azores, Madeira and Cape Verde) is gathered in a single garden. In a first area representing the flora of the two Autonomous Regions (Azores and Madeira), the tea trees from the Gorreana plantation on the island of Sâo Miguel stand out. The southern entrance to the garden is marked by clumps of evergreen shrubs. The small basalt dividing walls are reminiscent of the archipelago landscape and house sugar cane, tobacco and hydrangeas. A moat, crossed by footbridges, marks the symbolic border with the vegetation of Cape Verde, where Phoenix atlantica, Indigo and Aloe vera stand out.

In the African garden, the vegetation of the light deciduous forest, typical of the eastern coast and originating from the island of Inhaca, and the steppe of the Moçâmedes deserts with grasses and cacti are represented. The roads are covered with sand up to the large desert slabs, joined by alternating layers of black and reddish stone.

©Expo'98

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Jardins de Garcia de Orta


Jardins de Garcia de Orta à l'exposition de Lisbonne 1998

© Expo'98
Architecte(s) : J Gomes da Silva, L Cheis, R Salema, I Norton, J Adriao

Les Jardins Garcia de Orta forment un prolongement de la Promenade en bordure du Tage, et aboutit à la zone des restaurants et à l'Espace International Nord.

Ces jardins successifs sont au nombre de six, chacun ayant 25 mètres de large. Les plantes, qui ont été choisies pour ces différents jardins, recréent l'ambiance végétale des diverses contrées parcourues par les Portugais dans leurs voyages à travers les océans: Macao, Goa, Timor, Mozambique, Sào Tome et Principe, Cap Vert, Madère, Brésil, et la Baie de Moçâmedes en Angola. Il s'agit, en tout, de 400 espèces différentes offertes par les régions et les pays qui ont adhéré au projet.

Ces jardins représentent, en définitive, un pavillon à ciel ouvert et ils célèbrent les échanges botaniques, comme partie intégrante d'une autre aventure plus ample, celle des Découvertes. Ils sont symboliquement associés au nom du médecin et botaniste portugais Garcia de Orta (1501-1568), l'auteur de Colôquios dos Simples e ùrogos e Cousos Medicinais da îndia qui a vécu en Inde pendant 30 ans et où il a compilé le premier registre occidental de plantes orientales.

Le choix de la végétation est un travail d'ensemble entre l'Institut Supérieur d'Agronomie, l'Institut de Recherche Scientifique et Tropicale ainsi que des botanistes des régions et des pays représentés. La coordination du projet a été assurée par l'architecte paysagiste Cristina Castel-Branco et le dessin des lacs, des pavements, des murs et des fontaines est de la responsabilité des architectes Joao Gomes da Silva et Inès Norton de Matos.

Les matériaux de chaque jardin ont été étudiés pour suggérer les régions et les pays représentés: du bois dans le «pavillon du thé» à Coloane, de la ponce rouge et du basalte des volcans des flçores ou du sable des déserts africains.

Le jardin de Timor est le premier, et comme hall d'entrée il est très simple:
il raconte l'histoire du santal qui recouvrait jadis l'île de Timor et il parle aussi des plantes qui se sont si bien adaptées au climat portugais, comme par exemple l'eucalyptus et la casuarina.

La végétation de Macao, de la forêt tempérée et chaude, est dense, dominée par des arbustes (Tetropox, Melastono,...), partiellement recouverte par des arbres (Gingko bilobo, Magnolia stellata, Bombax ceiba) et marquée par des massifs de bambous. Le parcours se fait sur des plates-formes en bois, l'une d'entre elles formant un pont qui franchit le lac où du riz a été semé.

Le jardin de Goa possède, au centre, un bassin en marbre recevant de l'eau à partir d'un canal qui traverse cet espace. Un portique à claire-voie de bois permet d'apprécier l'ensemble du jardin où l'on remarque les orangers rapportés de Chine par les Portugais et acclimatés à Goa avant leur entrée en Europe. Une rangée de Caryotas urens (palmier) lui donne un caractère tropical.

Le jardin qui contient la végétation de Sào Tome (forêt dense et humide) présente tout d'abord la méliguette et est recouvert d'une structure servant à faire de l'ombre; des rangées de bananiers et la Logenaria.

Entre Sào Tome et Principe et le Brésil, coule une cascade à trois pans d'eau verticaux. Cela fait déjà longtemps que les plantes du Brésil se sont intégrées dans la végétation ornementale de Lisbonne; c'est le cas des bougainvilliers, des jacarandas, des Chorizi et des Tipuanas. On y trouve aussi d'autres plantes à forte floraison et humidifiées par nébulisation.

La végétation macaronésique (Açores, Madère et Cap Vert) est rassemblée dans un seul jardin. Dans un premier espace représentant la flore des deux Régions Autonomes (flçores et Madère), se détachent les théiers venus de la plantation de Gorreana de l'île de Sâo Miguel. L'entrée sud du jardin est marquée par des massifs d'arbustes à feuilles persistantes. Les petits murs de séparation en basalte rappellent le paysage de l'archipel et abritent la canne à sucre, le tabac et les hortensias. Un fossé, franchi par des passerelles, délimite la frontière symbolique avec la végétation du Cap Vert où se détachent le Phoenix atlantica, l'Indigo et l'Aloe vera.

Dans le jardin réservé à l'Afrique, sont représentées la végétation de la forêt claire à feuilles caduques, typique de la côte orientale et venue de l'île d'Inhaca ainsi que la steppe des déserts de Moçâmedes avec des graminées et des cactus. Les chaussées sont recouvertes de sable jusqu'aux grandes dalles du désert, unies par des couches alternées de pierre noire et rougeâtre.

©Expo'98