Back - List of Pavilions

International Area South - Expo Lisbon 1998

International Area South at the Exhibition Expo Lisbon 1998
© Expo'98
Architect(s) : RISCO/M. Salgado, Marino Fei, Pierluigi Cerri, Alessandro Colombo.

The international exhibitors' building, located at the southern end of the EXPO '98 site, with the main entrance on the Boulevard des Océans, is composed of different pavilions spaced out with aisles and squares protected from the sun by a large roof.

Each pavilion was built with a modular steel structure consisting of a basic cube-shaped module covered with metal panels and a roof. The architects have thus considerably reduced the cost of the buildings.

There are four outdoor walkways. Two parallel to the river, the other two transverse, these alleys cross over four shaded squares. In addition, there is a perimeter walkway with kiosks and a shopping gallery. This peripheral alley also acts as an attraction for visitors going from the entrance to the Sea to the Tagus or to the centre of the exhibition.

The opacity of the pavilions gives them a solid appearance, although this notion is mitigated by the roof that ends in a corner and gives it an air of extreme lightness.

In any case, this area, like the other areas of the entire exhibition site, respects the desire for unity desired by the architect Manuel Salgado.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Quartier international sud


Quartier international sud à l'exposition de Lisbonne 1998

© Expo'98
Architecte(s) : RISCO/M. Salgado, Marino Fei, Pierluigi Cerri, Alessandro Colombo.

Le bâtiment réservé aux exposants internationaux, situé à l'extrémité sud du site de l'EXPO '98 et dont l'entrée principale se situe sur le Boulevard des Océans, est composé de différents pavillons espacés d'allées et de places protégées du soleil par une large toiture.

Chaque pavillon a été construit avec une structure métallique modulaire composée d'un module de base en forme de cube recouvert de panneaux en métal ainsi que la toiture. Les architectes ont ainsi réduit considérablement le coût des bâtiments.

Il y a quatre allées extérieures. Deux parallèles à la rivière, les deux autres transversales, ces allées se croissent sur quatre places ombragées. En outre, une allée périphérique propose des kiosques et une galerie commerciale. Cette allée périphérique serre aussi d'attraction pour les visiteurs qui vont de l'entrée de la Mer vers le Tage ou vers le centre de l'exposition.

L'opacité des pavillons leur donne une apparence solide, bien que cette notion soit atténuée par le toit qui se termine dans un coin et lui donne un air d'extrême légèreté.

En tout cas cette zone, comme les autres zones de l'ensemble du site de l'exposition, respecte le désir d'unité souhaité par l'architecte Manuel Salgado.