1998 Lisbon World Exposition, Expo'98

Oceans, a legacy for the future

May 22, 1998 - September 30, 1998


Back - List of Pavilions

International Area North

International Area North at the Exhibition Expo Lisbon 1998

Architect(s) : Antonio Barreiros Ferreira, Alberto França Doria.

The largest building at EXPO '98 consists of four identical, large rectangular buildings, located side by side and surrounded by different volumes containing entrances, accesses, services, circulation areas, etc. The whole structure is so large that the architects designed a walkway with a conveyor belt to carry visitors from one end of the northern buildings to the other.

This walkway is suspended by steel cables attached to V-shaped masts, so they do not touch the ground and are attached to the halls themselves by steel bars to prevent them from swaying. The walkway is cylindrical in shape with a glass window on each side and along the entire length. At each aisle between the different halls, the walkway offered an exit where visitors could get off to continue their visit.


Next to the first hall is a large canvas, supported by steel cables attached to two large inverted V-shaped poles, which allows visitors to take shelter from the sun.


The height and size of these exhibition halls make them easily identifiable on the exhibition site. These buildings, which are extremely complex in terms of their metal structure, are extremely simple on the inside, which will allow them to house all the foreign participants during the exhibition and to serve as exhibition halls in their own right after the exhibition during the various fairs that the city of Lisbon will be offering. The complexity and architectural interest of these large halls lies in the roof structure, which forms a wave over these four buildings. The roof of each hall is characterised by a "double curvature" structure and is supported by a central pillar and two peripheral pillars on each side of the building. Both the roof and the pillars are made of a steel lattice structure for greater strength and lightness.


The pavilions in the northern zone, although similar, have an approach that is also decorative with various stylistic references despite their large surface area and similarity, which is now possible thanks to today's new technical and technological capabilities.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Quartier international nord


Quartier international nord à l'exposition de Lisbonne 1998

Architecte(s) : Antonio Barreiros Ferreira, Alberto França Doria.

Le plus grand bâtiment de l'EXPO '98 se compose de 4 bâtiments rectangulaires, identiques, de grande surface, situés côte à côte et entourés de différents volumes contenant les entrées, les accès, les services, les zones de circulation, etc, toute la structure est si grande que les architectes ont conçu une passerelle avec tapis roulant pour transporter les visiteurs d'un bout à l'autre des bâtiments nord.

Cette passerelle est suspendue par des câbles en acier accrochés à des mats en V, de ce fait ils ne touchent pas le sol et sont accrochés aux halls eux-même par des barres en acier pour éviter qu'ils n'oscillent. La passerelle quant à elle est de forme cylindrique avec de chaque côté et tout le long, une baie vitrée. A chaque allée entre les différents halls, la passerelle proposait une sortie où les visiteurs pouvaient descendre pour continuer leur visite.


Juste à côté du premier hall se trouve une grande toile, soutenue par des câbles en acier attachés à deux grands mâts en forme de V inversé, qui permet aux visiteurs de s'abriter du soleil.


Ces halls d'exposition de par leur hauteur et leur dimension sont facilement identifiables sur le site de l'exposition. Ces bâtiments, extrêmement complexes de par leur structure métallique, sont extrêmement simples à l'intérieur, ce qui permettra durant l'exposition de loger tous les participants étrangers et après l'exposition de servir de halls d'exposition à part entière durant les différentes foires que proposera la ville de Lisbonne. La complexité et l'intérêt architectural de ces grands halls résident dans la structure du toit, qui forme une vague sur ces quatre bâtiments. Le toit de chaque hall se caractérise par une structure à "double courbure" et est soutenu par un pilier central et par deux piliers périphériques de chaque coté du bâtiment. Le toit ainsi que les piliers sont constitués d'une structure d'acier en treillis pour une plus grande solidité et une plus grande légèreté.


Les pavillons de la zone nord bien que semblables, ont une approche qui est aussi décorative avec diverses références stylistiques malgré leur grande surface et leur ressemblance, cette architecture est possible maintenant grâce aux nouvelles capacités technique et technologiques d'aujourd'hui.