Back - List of Pavilions

Swatch -

Swatch at the Exhibition Expo Lisbon 1998
© Gaël Limpalaër ( http://vestiges-expositions.fr.gd/ )
Architect(s) : Pfau architecture et Eyecandy

The modern, innovative and fun style of the pavilion is based on the same concept as that used for the Swatch watches. The architects have taken advantage of the sloping terrain and designed the pavilion as an adventure/discovery with all that this implies: astonishment, surprise, questioning... a form of initiation.

The pavilion is designed so that visitors move along ramps in an open space to begin with, then narrows and finally opens up into the central room. The roof is a transparent ellipse with a transparent semi-cylindrical tower running through it.

At the end of the pavilion is a 15 metre high "Oval Chimney" which crosses the roof and contains the sales areas and a lounge. This structure consists of a steel frame covered with corrugated aluminium and fibreglass sheets. On the ground floor is the Swatch Collector Club and the presentation of the various Swatch products. The first level houses a VIP area with a toilet, small kitchen and bar. This level of the "Cheminée" is open via windows and offers a view of the exhibition. Finally, the upper level contains the mechanical equipment.

The visitor enters this pavilion via a ramp that follows the contours of the pavilion, these ramps are lined with translucent plastic walls that display the Swatch monster collection. Visitors then pass under sprayers with or without umbrellas depending on whether they want to get wet or not, and then arrive at a sort of labyrinth and finally at the central room.

This pavilion, by its architecture, colours... forms an organic figure that changes as you move around the building.

The pavilion was designed to be a place of recreation, fun and change of scenery compared to the other buildings in the exhibition, and its rounded shape and bright colours set it apart from the other pavilions, which are mainly orthogonal and monochromatic, as well as its concept based on discovery and fun, which contrasts with the classicism of the other pavilions.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Swatch


Swatch à l'exposition de Lisbonne 1998

© Gaël Limpalaër ( http://vestiges-expositions.fr.gd/ )
Architecte(s) : Pfau architecture et Eyecandy

Le style moderne, innovant et fun du pavillon, propose le même concept que celui appliqué pour les montres Swatch. Les architectes ont su tiré parti du terrain en pente, et on conçu ce pavillon comme une aventure/découverte avec tout ce que cela sous-entend: étonnement, surprise, interrogation...une forme de parcours initiatique.

Le pavillon est conçu pour que les visiteurs circulent le long de rampes dans un espace ouvert pour commencer, puis se resserre pour enfin s'ouvrir sur la salle centrale. Le toit est une ellipse transparente traversée par une tour semi-cylindrique transparente.

A l'extrémité du pavillon se situe une "Cheminée ovale" de 15 mètres de haut qui traverse le toit et qui contient les espaces de vente ainsi qu'un salon. Cette structure se compose d'une charpente en acier recouverte de tôle en aluminium et en fibre de verre ondulées. Au rez-de-chaussée se situe le Swatch Collector Club ainsi que la présentation des différents produits Swatch. Le premier niveau accueille un espace VIP avec WC, petite cuisine, et bar. Ce niveau de la "Cheminée" étant ouvert par des fenêtres, offre une vue sur l'exposition. Enfin, le niveau supérieur contient l'équipement mécanique.

Le visiteur pénètre dans ce pavillon par une rampe d'accès qui suit les contours du pavillon, ces rampes sont bordées de murs en plastique translucide qui présentent la collection de monstre Swatch. Puis les visiteurs passent sous des pulvérisateurs avec ou sans parapluie en fonction de leurs désir d'être mouillé ou pas, et arrivent ensuite à une sorte de labyrinthe et enfin à la pièce centrale.

Ce pavillon, de par son architecture, couleurs… forme une figure organique qui change lorsque vous vous déplacez autour du bâtiment.

Le pavillon a été conçu comme un lieu de récréation, d'amusement et de dépaysement par rapport aux autres bâtiments de l'exposition.De par sa forme arrondie et ses couleurs vives, le pavillon se distingue des autres qui sont principalement de formes orthogonales et monochromatiques, ainsi que de par son concept basé sur le plaisir découverte et le fun qui contraste avec le classicisme des expositions des autres pavillons.