1998 Lisbon World Exposition, Expo'98

Oceans, a legacy for the future

May 22, 1998 - September 30, 1998


Back - List of Pavilions

Virtual Reality

Virtual Reality at the Exhibition Expo Lisbon 1998

Architect(s) : Manuel Vicente

This pavilion, with its modern and futuristic design, makes the visitor curious and curious from the outset. It is distinguished from the other pavilions by its chiselled structure and above all by the five golden balls on top of its roof.

The virtual reality pavilion consists of two parts: the first part is the entrance and exhibition area of the telecommunications pavilion, and the second part is the actual virtual reality area.

The first section consists of a broken-looking tin roof, supported by a series of pillars fixed at 6 metre intervals, and containing tubes taking visitors to the exhibition area.

From there, a ramp gives access to the "Virtual Reality Park" through concentric ramps, which contrasts with the first section. For this second section, the architect uses access ramps surrounded by decorations, serving as curtains of scenes, to glimpse or hide the interior of the pavilion, arousing the curiosity of the visitor, but keeping the surprise until the last moment. This pathway serves to gradually immerse the visitor in the "virtual" world and thus make him more receptive to all his senses.

The visitor is invited to take a great underwater journey to discover the ruins and secrets of an ancient civilisation called Oceania. A forty-minute virtual dive to this lost city, inhabited by strange creatures of an unknown civilisation. But this journey through space and time will not go exactly as planned. This attraction uses the latest technologies in multimedia, animation and sensory technology

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Réalité Virtuelle


Réalité Virtuelle à l'exposition de Lisbonne 1998

Architecte(s) : Manuel Vicente

Ce pavillon au design moderne et futuriste plonge le visiteur dès l'extérieur dans l'interrogation et la curiosité. Il se distingue des autres pavillons par sa structure ciselée et surtout par ces 5 boules dorées au sommet de son toit.

Le pavillon de la réalité virtuelle se compose de deux parties : la première partie qui est l'entrée et la zone d'exposition du pavillon des télécommunications, et la deuxième partie qui est la zone proprement dite de réalité virtuelle.

La première section se compose d'un toit en tôle à l'aspect brisé, soutenu par une serie de piliers fixés à 6 mètres d'intervalle, et contenant des tubes emmenant les visiteurs vers la zone d'exposition.

De là, une rampe donne accès au "Parc de la réalité virtuelle" grâce à des rampes concentriques, qui contraste avec la première section. Pour cette seconde section, l'architecte utilise des rampes d'accès entourées par les décorations, servant de rideaux de scènes, pour entrevoir ou cacher l'intérieur du pavillon, succitant la curiosité du visiteur, mais en gardant la surprise jusqu'au dernier moment. Ce cheminement sert à plonger progressivement le visiteur dans le monde "virtuel" et ainsi le rendre plus réceptif au niveau de tous ses sens.

Le visiteur est invité à faire un grand voyage subaquatique à la découverte des ruines et des secrets d'une ancienne civilisation appelée océania. Une plongée virtuelle de quarante minutes, vers cette cité perdue, habitée par des créatures étranges d'une civilisation inconnue. Mais ce voyage dans l'espace et le temps ne va pas se passer éxactement comme prévu. Cette attraction utilise les dernières technologies en matière de multimédia, d'animation et de technologie sensorielle