Back - List of Pavilions

Utopia - Expo Lisbon 1998

Utopia at the Exhibition Expo Lisbon 1998
© Daniel Gil
Architect(s) : Som et Regino Cruz

This huge shell-shaped pavilion, which is located between the Quai des Olivais and the Tagus, is the focal point of the exhibition due to its position and architecture. The architects have positioned the pavilion so that it turns its back to the tag, and the spectators enter from the main avenue. The structure of the building refers to the structure of ships at the time of the Portuguese discoveries, and is therefore composed of laminated wooden vaults, with a central crossbeam measuring 114 metres. The general curvature of the rows of seats and the flat central surface of the main hall are also reminiscent of the structure of the ships of the past.

During the exhibition, this building, which has 10,000 seats, is used exclusively as an auditorium for a multimedia show. Later, the multi-purpose hall will be used for sports events, concerts and other performances.

The pavilion presents a sparkling, chronological and humorous show "Utopia - A Brief History of Oceans and Utopias", which uses classical and modern theatrical effects as well as the latest multimedia technologies.

The show consists of 10 "images" that illustrate the history and the main oceanic myths, the spectator travels from the Bing Bang, to the great conquests, to Atlantis... and even witness the birth of the Statue of Liberty.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Utopie


Utopie à l'exposition de Lisbonne 1998

© Daniel Gil
Architecte(s) : Som et Regino Cruz

Cet immense pavillon en forme de coquillage, qui se situe entre le quai des Olivais et le Tage, est le point centrale de l'exposition de part sa position et de part son architecture. Les architectes ont positionné le pavillon de tel sorte qu'il tourne le dos au tag, et que les spectateurs entre par l'avenue principale. La structure de l'édifice fait référence au structure des bateaux du temps des découvertes portugaises, et est donc composée de voûtes en bois stratifié, dont la traverse centrale mesure 114 mètres. La courbure générale des rangées de sièges et la surface plane centrale de la grande salle, n’est pas sans rappeler aussi la structure des navire d’antan.

Pendant l'exposition se bâtiment, de 10000 places, sert exclusivement de salle de spectacle pour un spectacle multimédia, par la suite celle salle polyvalente accueillera aussi bien des manifestation sportives, des concerts ou autres spectacles.

Ce pavillon présente un spectacle pétillant, chronologique et humoristique « Utopia – Une brève histoire des océans et des utopies » qui utilise des effets théâtraux classiques et modernes telles que les dernières technologies multimédia.

Ce spectacle se compose de 10 « images » qui illustrent l’histoire et les principaux mythes océaniques, le spectateur voyage ainsi du Bing Bang, aux grandes conquêtes, à l’Atlantide… et même assister à l’accouchement de la statue de la liberté.