Back - List of Pavilions

Oceans and Oceanography - Expo Lisbon 1998

Oceans and Oceanography at the Exhibition Expo Lisbon 1998
© Daniel Gil
Architect(s) : Peter Chermayeff, Peter Sollogub, Bobby Poole et Ginette Castro

The pavilion of oceans and oceanography is in fact a huge aquarium (the largest in Europe). This building is located in the middle of the water of the Olivais docks, like an island in the middle of the ocean, and was also in the middle of the exhibition park.
This pavilion is actually made up of 2 buildings: the aquarium which seems to float on the water and the vestibule on the other side of the basin which connects the first building via footbridges, evoking the boats which are connected to the mainland of the port by footbridges.
The upper part of the aquarium is surrounded by glass windows and the roof, held in place by steel cables attached to masts, is also glazed.

This building is composed of 5 tanks, the largest of which in the centre contains 6000 m3 of water, the other 4 are located in the four corners of the pavilion, each representing the biosphere of an ocean (Atlantic, Pacific, Indian and Antarctic) and totalling 8000 specimens and 250 different species.

The visit began on the upper floor where the visitor discovered the fauna and flora of the emerged part of the basin, then the circuit continued on the lower floor where he could appreciate the submerged part of the basin through large windows.

While following the meandering aquarium in the half-light, visitors were accompanied by the sounds of the sea. This sound universe reinforced the illusion that one was under the sea.
This pavilion still exists today.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Océans et Océanographie


Océans et Océanographie à l'exposition de Lisbonne 1998

© Daniel Gil
Architecte(s) : Peter Chermayeff, Peter Sollogub, Bobby Poole et Ginette Castro

Le pavillon des océans et de l'océanographie est en fait un immense aquarium (le plus grand d'europe). Cet édifice est situé au milieu du plan d'eau des docks Olivais, comme une ile au milieu de l'océan, et se trouvait en plus au milieu du parc d'exposition.
Ce pavillon est constitué en fait de 2 bâtiments: l'aquarium qui semble flotter sur l'eau et le vestibule de l'autre coté du bassin qui permet de relier le premier bâtiment via des passerelles, évoquant les bateaux qui sont relié à la terre ferme du port par des passerelles.
La partie supérieure de l'aquarium est entourée de baies vitrées et le toit maintenu par des cables d'acier accrochés à des mats est lui aussi vitré.
Cet édifice est composé de 5 bassins dont le plus grand au centre contient 6000 m3 d'eau, les 4 autres se situent aux quatre coins du pavillon representant chacun la biosphère d'un océan (atlatique,pacifique,indien et antartique) et totalisant 8000 spécimens et 250 espèces différentes.
La visite débutait par l'étage supérieur où le visiteur découvrait la faune et la flore de la partie emmergé du bassin puis le circuit se poursuivait à l'étage inférieur où il pouvait aprécié la partie immergées du bassin à travers de grande baies vitrées.
Les visiteurs tout en suivant les méandres de l'aquarium dans la pénombre était accompagné par les bruits de la mer. Cet univers sonore renforçait l'illusion que l'on était sous la mer.
ce pavillon existe toujours à l'heure actuelle.