Back - List of Pavilions

Oriente Station - Expo Lisbon 1998

Oriente Station at the Exhibition Expo Lisbon 1998
© Expo'98
Architect(s) : Santiago Calatrava

Santiago Calatrava, the architect of the Oriente station, decided to organise the whole structure around two axes: one is obviously the railway line, the other axis is a symmetrical line that runs from the river, passes between the Pavilion of Utopia and the Dock Olivais, crosses the centre of the entrance to the Sun, and ends on the other side of the railway line. This second axis is clearly a means of ensuring formal continuity between the new district and the surrounding urban fabric, which is accompanied by the uninterrupted passage of the two tracks through the station and a subway, which are perpendicular to the river and thus establish a spatial relationship between the two parts of the city.

The station is an imposing urban structure that includes a railway station, a bus station and an underground station.

The architect designed the station, which is a transit station and not a terminal station like Santa Apolonia, as a covered bridge over the platforms, which merely perform their functions.

The bridge is a concrete slab supported by intersecting arches before reaching the ground. Standing on this slab, the roof of the pier is shaped like a tree; each metal element consists of a "trunk" that opens into "branches" between two sheets of glass supported by parallel beams. Tree-like proportions were adopted,
and leads to the existence of very high "tree tops".

This reference to nature shows that Santiago Calatrava continues to follow his expressive research based on the work of Antoni Gaudi.

Below the bridge, a pedestrian subway follows the longitudinal axis of symmetry, starting from the side closest to the river - with a large porch made of glass and metal - and extending through the bus depot - the roof uses the same materials as the porch and extends perpendicularly to the axis of symmetry, thus protecting the passengers entering and leaving the building.

This station consists of:
- Bus station and car park: Two glass and steel canopies, alluding to the wave near the sea, protect the two 112 m long and 11 m wide platforms. The canopies meet at the longitudinal gallery which ends at the station.
- The bus service area is at the end of the platforms. Two levels of parking, with a capacity of 2,000 cars, are located under the station.
- Metro station: The metro station runs transversely through the building. It is connected to the longitudinal gallery by an intermediate floor which serves as the main hall and where the station's ticket offices are located.
- Railway Station: The eight railway lines cross the building at the bridge level covered by a tree-like structure made of iron and glass.78m wide and 238m long, it houses the main railway functions in its central multi-level span.
- Longitudinal Gallery: The Longitudinal Gallery serves as a corridor through the entire building linking the different areas. It is bordered by commercial spaces, some of which extend over two levels.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Station Oriente


Station Oriente à l'exposition de Lisbonne 1998

© Expo'98
Architecte(s) : Santiago Calatrava

Santiago Calatrava, l'architecte de la station Oriente, a décidé d'organiser toute la structure autour de deux axes: l'un est évidemment la ligne de chemin de fer, l'autre axe est une symétrique de la ligne qui s'étend de la rivière, passe entre le Pavillon de l'utopie et le Dock Olivais, traverse le centre de l'entrée du Soleil, et se termine de l'autre côté de la ligne de chemin de fer. Ce deuxième axe est clairement un moyen d'assurer la continuité formelle entre le nouveau quartier et le tissu urbain environnant, qui est accompagné par le passage ininterrompu des deux voies dans la gare et un passage souterrain, qui sont perpendiculaires à la rivière et d'établir ainsi une relation spatiale entre les deux parties de la ville.

Cette station est une structure urbaine imposante qui comprend une gare ferroviaire, une gare d'autobus et une station de métro.

L'architecte a conçu la station, qui est une gare de transit en non une gare terminus comme Santa Apolonia, comme un pont couvert étendu sur les quais qui ne font que remplir leurs fonctions.

Le pont est une dalle de béton soutenue par des arcs entrecroisés avant d'atteindre le sol. Ce dressant sur cette dalle le toit du quai est en forme d'arbre; chaque élément métallique est composé d'un "tronc" qui s'ouvre en «branches» entre deux feuilles de verre soutenu par des poutres parallèles. Des proportions similaires a celles des arbres ont été adoptées,
et conduit à l'existence de très hautes "cimes des arbres".

Cette référence à la nature montre que Santiago Calatrava continue de suivre ses recherches expressives basées sur le travail d'Antoni Gaudi.

En dessous le pont, un passage souterrain pour piétons suit l'axe de symétrie longitudinal, en partant du côté le plus proche de la rivière - avec un grand porche fait de verre et de metal - et s'étendant à travers le dépôt de bus - le toit utilise les mêmes matières que le porche et s'étend perpendiculairement à l'axe de symétrie, protegeant ainsi les passagers qui entrent et qui sortent du bâtiment.

Cette station se compose de:
- Station de bus et parking: Deux auvents de verre et d'acier, faisant allusion à la vague à proximité de la mer, protègent les deux quais de 112 m de long et et 11m de large. Les auvents se rejoignent au niveau de la galerie longitudinale qui se termine à la gare.
- La zone de services de bus se trouve à la fin des quais. Deux niveaux de parking, d'une capacité de 2.000 voitures, sont situés sous la gare.
- Station de métro: La station de métro traverse transversalement le bâtiment. Elle se connecte à la galerie longitudinale par un étage intermédiaire qui sert de hall principal et où se trouvent les guichets de vente de tickets de la station.
- Gare: Les huit lignes de chemin de fer traversent le bâtiment au niveau du pont couvert par une structure en forme d'arbre faite de fer et de verre.78m de large sur 238m de long, elle abrite les principales fonctions du chemin de fer dans sa travée centrale à plusieurs niveaux.
- Galerie longitudinale : La Galerie longitudinale sert comme coridor à travers l'ensemble du bâtiment qui relie les différentes zones. Elle est bordée par des espaces commerciaux, certain s'étendant sur deux niveaux.