1998 Lisbon World Exposition, Expo'98

Oceans, a legacy for the future

May 22, 1998 - September 30, 1998


Back - List of Pavilions

Sun entrance

Sun entrance at the Exhibition Lisbon 1998

© Daniel Gil

Architect(s) : Daciano Costa, Jorge Spencer et Joao Paulo Martins.

Visitors arriving at Oriente station pass through the Sun Gate. This gate marks the axis of symmetry that begins at the Oriente station and ends in the river between the Pavilion of Portugal and the Pavilion of Utopia and is characterised by a long, narrow ornamental pool.

The two enormous porticoes, composed of a series of arched arches supported by sloping pillars, and a large horizontal beam constitutes "a reference to the structure of a ship under construction".

According to the architects, "passing under the hull frame, the visitor arrives at the interior door area: a large and festive "space", remarkably designed as a poetic sea background with uniform colours and diffuse lighting; the huge ship, on the other hand, establishes its rhythm through a series of lighting pillars, punctuated by concentrated beams. The line of turnstiles at the entrance divides the functional space into two zones: the compression zone on the side facing the land, the decompression/expansion zone facing the sea.
The Central Boulevard is reached by means of a double system of ramps and steps, and the visitor can enjoy a panoramic view of the Exhibition from the platform of the outdoor terrace, in the shadow of the ship's frame.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Entrée du soleil


Entrée du soleil à l'exposition de Lisbonne 1998

© Daniel Gil
Architecte(s) : Daciano Costa, Jorge Spencer et Joao Paulo Martins.

Les visiteurs arrivant par la station Oriente passent par la Porte du Soleil. Cette porte marque l'axe de symétrie qui commence à la gare Oriente et se termine dans la rivière entre le pavillon du Portugal et le Pavillon de l'Utopie et est caractérisé par un long bassin ornemental étroit.
Les deux énormes portiques, composés d'une série de d'arcs cintrés soutenus par des piliers en pente, et une grosse poutre horizontale constitue "une référence à la structure d'un navire en construction".
Selon les architectes "passant sous le châssis de la coque, le visiteur arrive à la zone intérieure de la porte: un "espace" grand et festif , remarquablement conçu comme un fond de la mer poétique avec des couleurs uniformes et un éclairage diffus; L'immense navire, quant à lui, établi son rythme par une série de piliers d'éclairage, ponctué par des faisceaux concentrés. La ligne de tourniquets à l'entrée divise l'espace fonctionnel en deux zones: la zone de compression sur le côté faisant face à la terre, la zone décompression/d'expansion face à la mer.
Puis on atteint le Boulevard Central au moyen d'un double système de rampes et de marches, le visiteur peut profiter d'une vue panoramique de l'Exposition sur la plate-forme de la terrasse extérieure, à l'ombre du cadre du navire.