1998 Lisbon World Exposition, Expo'98

Oceans, a legacy for the future

May 22, 1998 - September 30, 1998


Back - List of Pavilions

Information centre

Information centre at the Exhibition Expo Lisbon 1998

Architect(s) : Miguel Arruda

Designed to welcome visitors and provide detailed information not only about EXPO '98, but also about the whole area under renovation, the Information Centre is a large curved structure rising from the ground with several floors overlooking the future district of Lisbon.

The supporting structure for the roof, originally designed for an exhibition on the 1865 International Exhibition in Porto, was inaugurated in the Soares dos Reis Museum in June 1994, and was designed by the same architect. A link is thus created between the two major international exhibitions held in Portugal since the first such event in London in 1851.

The supporting structure is composed of curves, triangular beams supported by joints that allow it to be raised or lowered. In Porto the roof was transparent, reminiscent of the Crystal Palace which was built especially for the 1851 exhibition and later destroyed by fire. In Lisbon, the metal cladding covering the Information Centre reminds visitors of the ephemeral nature of the building. In both cases, the geometry of the curve was planned to distribute the forces acting on it as evenly as possible.

History and technology are thus combined in this building, which will disappear in the future or lend its supporting structure to another architectural creation.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Centre d'information


Centre d'information à l'exposition de Lisbonne 1998

Architecte(s) : Miguel Arruda

Conçu pour accueillir les visiteurs et fournir des informations détaillées non seulement sur l'EXPO '98, mais aussi sur l'ensemble de la zone en rénovation, le Centre d'information est une grande structure courbe s'élevant du sol avec plusieurs étages qui donnent sur le futur quartier de Lisbonne.

La structure support pour le toit, a été initialement conçue pour une exposition sur l'Exposition internationale de 1865 de Porto, et a été inaugurée dans le musée Soares dos Reis en Juin 1994, elle a été conçue par le même architecte. Un lien est ainsi créé entre les deux grandes expositions internationales tenues au Portugal depuis le premier événement de ce genre à Londres en 1851.

La structure de soutien est composée de courbes, des poutres triangulaires soutenues par des articulations lui permettent d'être relevée ou abaissée. À Porto le toit était transparent, rappelant le Palais de Cristal qui a été construit spécialement pour l'exposition 1851 et plus tard détruit par le feu. A Lisbonne, le revêtement métallique couvrant le Centre d'information rappelle aux visiteurs la nature éphémère de l'immeuble. Dans les deux cas, la géométrie de la courbe a été planifiée de manière à répartir les forces qui agissent sur lui aussi régulièrement que possible.

L'historique et la technique sont donc réunies dans ce bâtiment qui, dans l'avenir, disparaitra ou prêtera sa structure d'appui à une autre création architecturale.