1998 Lisbon World Exposition, Expo'98

Oceans, a legacy for the future

May 22, 1998 - September 30, 1998


Back - List of Pavilions

Exhibition pavilion

Exhibition pavilion at the Exhibition Expo Lisbon 1998

Architect(s) : Risco/Manuel Salgado, Paulo Albuquerque.

Located between the Portuguese pavilion and the Knowledge of the Seas pavilion, and between the Boulevard de l'Ocean and the Quai Olivais, the exhibition pavilion is in the shape of a long L, the length of which runs parallel to the boulevard.

The interior of the L opens onto a large esplanade overlooking the docks, the reception station and the neighbouring pavilions, and is surrounded by a shopping centre, with the shops inside overlooking the boulevard.

During EXPO '98 an exhibition area is located above the shops, which will later be replaced by offices, thus making this building a commercial space.
The ground floor of the building is occupied by shops, two self-service restaurants and visitor services. To avoid the dehumanised structure of the shopping centre, all the facilities have direct access from the boulevard side and the square side, so that the building itself becomes a passageway, and the architects have taken advantage of the length of the building by positioning horizontal strips along it, alternately opaque or glazed, which gives the building a certain fluidity.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Pavillon des Expositions


Pavillon des Expositions à l'exposition de Lisbonne 1998

Architecte(s) : Risco/Manuel Salgado, Paulo Albuquerque.

Situé entre le pavillon Portugais et le pavillon de la connaissance des mers, et entre le Boulevard de l'Ocean et le quai Olivais, le pavillon d'exposition est en forme de long L, dont ca longueur est parallèle au boulevard.

L'intérieur du L s'ouvre sur une grande esplanade ouverte sur les docks, la station d'accueil et les pavillons voisins, et est encerclée par un centre commercial, les boutiques à l'intérieur donnant sur le boulevard.

Au cours de l'EXPO '98 un espace d'exposition est situé au-dessus des commerces qui cèderont plus tard la place à des bureaux, ce faisant ainsi de cette construction d'un espace commercial.
Au rez de chaussée du bâtiment est occupé par des commerces, deux restaurants self-service et des services aux visiteurs. Pour éviter la structure déshumanisée du centre commercial, toutes les installations ont un accès direct du côté du boulevard et du côté de la place, de ce fait le bâtiment lui-même devient un passage, de plus les architectes ont profité de la longueur de l'édifice en positionnant des bandes horizontale le long , alternativement opaques ou vitrées, ce qui donne une certaine fluidité au bâtiment.