Back - List of Pavilions

Buildings of the Boat Show -

Buildings of the Boat Show at the Exhibition Expo Lisbon 1998
Architect(s) : Ignasi Raventos, Juan Ramon de Clascà, Javier Ruiz, Mateu Tersol.

The docks have existed for many years and have seen many ships.

The decision was made not only to maintain this old harbour structure, but also to make it a central element in the marina, which forms the southern border of the redevelopment area where EXPO '98 is located.

In the middle of the marina there is a building that houses various shops (small shopping centre) and runs along the outside of the quay. It is the largest of all the buildings associated with the old port, and together with the old cracking tower at the Sea Gate, it is a reminder of the origins and past of this place.

The link between the architecture of these buildings and the Port Authority building at the river entrance to the marina is that they all have the same strong steel structures, sandwich panel walls and aluminium frames. This allows them to be erected quickly and easily on the quay, without the quay having to support too heavy a load.

The building, the largest of all, stands out from the others by its 2 suspended volumes (reminiscent of the sails of a ship) with inclined beams and surrounded by large terraces.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Bâtiments de l'Exposition Nautique


Bâtiments de l'Exposition Nautique à l'exposition de Lisbonne 1998

Architecte(s) : Ignasi Raventos, Juan Ramon de Clascà, Javier Ruiz, Mateu Tersol.

Les docks éxistent depuis de nombreuses années et ont vu de nombreux navires.

La décision a été prise non seulement de maintenir cette structure du vieux port, mais aussi d'en faire un élément central dans le port de plaisance, qui constitue la frontière sud de la zone de réaménagement où EXPO '98 est situé.

Au mileu de la marina un bâtiment abrite divers commerces (petit centre commercial) et longe l'extérieur du quai. Il est le plus grand de tous les bâtiments associés au vieux port, ce bâtiment, au même titre que la vieille tour de craquage située à la Porte de la Mer, rappelle les origines et le passé de ce lieu.

Le lien entre l'architecture de ces bâtiments et le bâtiment des autorités portuaires, à l'entrée de la rivière de la marina, est qu'ils possèdent tous les mêmes structures métalliques résistantes, murs en panneau "sandwich" et châssis en aluminium. Cela leur permet d'être érigée rapidement et facilement sur le quai, sans que ce dernier ait à soutenir une charge trop lourde.

Le bâtiment,le plus grand de tous, se démarque des autres par ses 2 volumes suspendus (rapelant les voiles d'un navire) avec des poutres inclinées et entouré par de larges terrasses.