1998 Lisbon World Exposition, Expo'98

Oceans, a legacy for the future

May 22, 1998 - September 30, 1998


Back - List of Pavilions

Administration building

Administration building at the Exhibition Expo Lisbon 1998

Architect(s) : Joao de Almeida, Pedro Ferreira Pinto et Pedro Emauz Silva

This building is solely composed of offices and is organised in two parts (East and West) which are separated from each other to create a central interior atrium.

The tops of the eastern part, which are wedge-shaped on the river side, face north-east and south-east respectively. Both sections are protected from the sun by perforated sheets, but for the north-east section the sheets are perforated in vertical shades, while on the south-east side the sheets are perforated in horizontal shades.

The western section is protected from the sun's penetrating rays by perforated sheets with curved vertical shades, which overlap for total protection.

The south side of the large interior space and the west section are also protected by horizontal sunshades.
For the "roof", the building consists of a sloping glass canopy, placed on a metal structure, which heats the air in the central atrium, creating a greenhouse effect during the winter or accelerating the chimney effect during the summer. Coupled with the sunshade, this energy-saving model allows the indoor ambient temperature to be raised or lowered as required.

Joao de Almeida, Pedro Ferreira Pinto and Pedro Emauz Silva therefore sought to design a building in which climate issues were addressed and not ignored, as is usually the case. The architects have not neglected the aesthetic aspect, whether it be with the symmetrical composition of the building or the whiteness of the perforated sheet metal sunshades, which are reminiscent of the sails of a ship.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Bâtiment Administratif


Bâtiment Administratif à l'exposition de Lisbonne 1998

Architecte(s) : Joao de Almeida, Pedro Ferreira Pinto et Pedro Emauz Silva

Ce bâtiment est uniquement composé de bureaux et est organisé en deux parties (Est et Ouest) qui sont séparées l'une de l'autre pour créer un atrium intérieur central intérieur.

Les sommets de la partie Est, en forme de coin côté rivière, sont l'un orienté vers le Nord-Est, l'autre vers le sud-est. Les deux parties sont protégées du soleil par des tôles perforées, mais pour la partie Nord-Est les tôles sont perforées en nuances verticales, tandis que du coté Sud-Est les tôles sont perforées en nuances horizontales.

La section ouest est à l'abri des rayons pénétrants du soleil grâce à des tôles perforées avec des nuances verticales courbées, qui se chevauchent pour une protection totale.

Le côté sud du grand espace intérieur et la partie ouest sont également protégés par des pare-soleils horizontaux.
Pour la "toiture", le bâtiment est constitué d'un auvent de verre en pente, posé sur une structure métallique, et qui chauffe l'air dans l'atrium central, créant un effet de serre pendant l'hiver ou l'accélération de l'effet de cheminée pendant l'été. Couplé avec le pare-soleil, ce modèle d'économie d'énergie permet à la température ambiante intérieure d'être relevée ou abaissée en fonction des besoins.

Joao de Almeida, Pedro Ferreira Pinto et Pedro Emauz Silva ont donc cherché à concevoir un bâtiment dans lequel les questions climatiques ont été abordées et non pas ignorées, comme c'est habituellement le cas. Les architectes n'ont pas négligé le côté esthétique, que ce soit, avec l'ensemble de composition symétrique du bâtiment ou avec la blancheur des parasols en tôle perforée, qui rappellent les voiles d'un navire.