Back - List of Pavilions

Water Gardens / Vitalis Park - Expo Lisbon 1998

Water Gardens / Vitalis Park at the Exhibition Expo Lisbon 1998
© Expo'98

The Water Gardens / Vitalis Park are one of the structural elements of the EXPO '98 site. Together with the Central Alley of the site and the Tagus River, they form the core of the site.

To the west, they are surrounded by three important buildings of the site: the Ocean Pavilion, the Virtual Reality Pavilion and the Camoes Theatre / Jules Verne Auditorium.

The Gardens, which run from west to east, have a common identity due to their overall layout and the works of the painter Fernando Fragateiro. The theme of water is dealt with in several ways: biological, sensory, playful, artistic, scientific, etc.

The entrance is via the Central Alley, through a large arched wall, 7 metres high and 2 metres wide, which overlooks a small pool. It symbolically represents a water tower, the source of the entire water transport system.

From west to east, the first garden is the Palm Garden. The ground has been lowered by about 80 centimetres, in order to accentuate the effect of a sequence that runs from the Press Centre in the west to the Camoes Theatre / Jules Verne Auditorium in the east. They establish a "valley" gradient between the two neighbouring ensembles, the Press Centre and the Pavilion of the Knowledge of the Seas. The central element is a canal through which water from the water tower flows to the river. The opposite effect has been created in the next garden, the Mediterranean Orchard, where the ground has been raised to provide a good view of the garden next door, the Diagonal Garden, the Dock and Lake Ulysses to the east.

Lake Ulysses - the "wet" place - is the third of these water gardens. Idealised after the adventurous experiences of Ulysses, the hero of the Odyssey and mythical founder of Lisbon, it was created with the safety of adults and children's play in mind. To this end, the lake has an irregular bottom that allows you to cross it without getting your feet wet, as if it were a ford. For about two minutes, a special effect is created, where the lake fills up, empties and reappears as a 2-metre high curtain.

Opposite is the "Cascade" building, a 4-metre high portico from which 103 small tubes project water 4 metres away, forming a sheet of water up to the wooden bridge that allows you to cross laterally between Lake Ulysses and the island lake. The island lake is surrounded laterally by walls covered with painted azulejos, allowing views of the river through the Cascade. In the middle of the "still" water is the island which creates the atmosphere of an exotic landscape on the edge of an imaginary coast. As if born from this lake, the "hydraulic garden", is a delta of the river that serves the Tagus. Under the various canals, made of pebbles, which form the delta, is one of the wooden platforms, where a set of games and water machines are installed. These games use the water of the canals to pedagogically demonstrate the ideas that come out of the experiments carried out in the physics or technical laboratories applied to everyday life. They are presented as entertainment for children and will make them ask their parents embarrassing questions.

© Expo'98

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Jardins de l'Eau / Parc Vitalis


Jardins de l'Eau / Parc Vitalis à l'exposition de Lisbonne 1998

© Expo'98

Les Jardins de l'Eau / Parc Vitalis sont un des éléments structurants de l'enceinte de l'EXPO '98. Ils forment avec l'Allée Centrale de l'enceinte et avec le Tage.

A l'ouest, ils sont entourés par trois édifices importants de l'enceinte: l'édifice d'accueil du Pavillon des Océans, le Pavillon de la Réalité Virtuelle et le Théâtre Camoes/ /Auditorium Jules Verne.

Les Jardins, qui s'étendent de l'ouest à l'est, ont une identité commune provenant de leur tracé d'ensemble et des oeuvres du peintre Fernando Fragateiro. La thématique de l'eau y est traitée sous plusieurs aspects: biologique, sensoriel, ludique, artistique, scientifique, etc.

L'entrée se fait par l'Allée Centrale, par un grand mur en arc de 7 mètres de haut et 2 mètres de large qui domine un petit bassin. Il représente symboliquement un château d'eau, source de tout le système de transport de l'eau.

De l'ouest à l'est, le premier jardin est celui des Palmiers. Le sol a été rabaissé d'environ 80 centimètres, afin d'accentuer l'effet une séquence qui va du Centre de Presse, à l'ouest, jusqu'au Théâtre Camoes / Auditorium Jules Verne, à l'est. Ils établissent un dénivellement de «vallée» entre les deux ensembles voisins, le Centre de Presse et le Pavillon de la Connaissance des Mers. L'élément central est un canal par où l'eau du château d'eau coule jusqu'au fleuve. Un effet contraire a été créé dans le jardin suivant, celui du Verger de la Méditerranée dont le sol a été surélevé pour pouvoir offrir un beau point de vue sur le jardin d'à côté, le Jardin de la Diagonale, sur le Dock et sur le Lac Ulysse, à l'est.

Le lac Ulysse - place « mouillée» -est le troisième de ces jardins d'eau. Idéalisée d'après les expériences aventureuses d'Ulysse, héros de l'Odyssée et fondateur mythique de Lisbonne, il a été créé en pensant à la sécurité des adultes ainsi qu'aux jeux des enfants. Pour cela, le lac a un fond irrégulier qui permet de le traverser sans se mouiller les pieds comme s'il s'agissait d'un gué. Pendant deux minutes environ. il y est créé un effet spécial, où le lac s'emplit puis se vide et réapparaît sous forme d'un rideau de 2 mètres de haut.

En face se trouve l'édifice de la «Cascade», un portique de 4 m de haut d'où 103 petits tubes projettent de l'eau à 4 m de distance, formant une nappe d'eau jusqu'au pont de bois qui permet de traverser latéralement entre le lac Ulysse et le lac de l'île. Le lac de l'île est entouré latéralement par des murs recouverts d'azulejos peints faisant apprécier les vues sur le fleuve à travers la Cascade. Au milieu de l'eau «dormante» se trouve l'île qui créé l'ambiance d'un paysage exotique sur les bords d'une côte imaginaire. Comme naissant de ce lac, le «jardin hydraulique», est un delta du fleuve qui dessert le Tage. Sous les divers canaux, faits de galets, qui forment le delta, se trouve une des plates-formes de bois, ou sont installés un ensemble de jeux et de machines à eau. Ces jeux utilisent l'eau des canaux pour, pédagogiquement, montrer les idées sorties des expériences faites en laboratoire de physique ou de technique appliquées au quotidien. Ils sont présentés sous forme de divertissement pour les enfants et les pousseront à poser des questions embarrassantes à leurs parents.

© Expo'98