1998 Lisbon World Exposition, Expo'98

Oceans, a legacy for the future

May 22, 1998 - September 30, 1998


Back - List of Pavilions

Sea entrance

Sea entrance at the Exhibition Expo Lisbon 1998

© Expo'98

Architect(s) : Manuel Graça Dias et Egas José Vieira

From the beginning of the Expo project, it was decided to keep the cracking tower of the former refinery as a vestige of this former industrial area.

As the most striking element of this entrance - the closest to the centre of Lisbon and the beginning of the central avenue of the exhibition site, and yet also an urban landmark of this future district, a new centre of the Lisbon metropolitan area.

The architects, Manuel Graça Dias and Egas José Vieira, created a walkway around this tower with artistic designs by Pedro Calapez, which extends over a curved ramp (lit at night) leading to the first level of the tower, a viewing platform.

For those arriving at EXPO '98, a strange architecture welcomes visitors. In reality, it is a pointed shape, guiding visitors to the ticket counters and turnstiles to enter the exhibition site via the circular walkway under the ramp, which is located right next to the cracking tower.


Using a 'before and after' approach, the architects have created a set of very diverse forms that represent today, and will represent tomorrow, the successive stages of the transformation of the dilapidated industrial area in the Dock Olivais, in this new and exemplary district of Lisbon.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Entrée de la Mer


Entrée de la Mer à l'exposition de Lisbonne 1998

© Expo'98
Architecte(s) : Manuel Graça Dias et Egas José Vieira

Dès le début du projet de l'Exposition, il a été décidé de conserver la tour de craquelage de l'ancienne raffinerie comme vestige de cette ancienne zone industrielle.

Comme l'élément le plus frappant de cette entrée - le plus proche du centre de Lisbonne et le début de l'avenue centrale du site de l'exposition, et pourtant aussi un repère urbain de ce quartier à venir, un nouveau centre de la zone métropolitaine de Lisbonne.

Les architectes, Manuel Graça Dias et Egas José Vieira, ont ainsi créé une passerelle autour de cette tour avec des dessins artistiques de Pedro Calapez, qui s'étend sur une rampe incurvée (éclairé la nuit) conduisant au premier niveau de la tour, une plate-forme panoramique.

Pour ceux qui arrivent à l'EXPO '98, une étrange architecture accueille les visiteurs. En réalité, il s'agit d'une forme pointue, qui guide les visiteurs vers les guichets et les tourniquets pour les faire entrer dans le site de l'exposition par la passerelle circulaire sous la rampe, qui se trouve juste à côté de la tour de craquelage.


Utilisant une approche d'"avant et après", les architectes ont créé un ensemble de formes très diverses qui représentent aujourd'hui, et représentera demain, les étapes successives de la transformation de la zone industrielle délabrée dans le Dock Olivais, dans ce nouveau et exemplaire quartier de Lisbonne.