Back - List of Pavilions

Avenue of Europe - Expo Sevilla 1992

Avenue of Europe at the Exhibition Expo Sevilla 1992
© Jean-Michel Colin
Architect(s) : Jean-Marie Hennin et Georg Lippsmeier

This avenue, which consisted of a garden, twelve canvas towers and an umbrella roof, was above all the avenue where the twelve pavilions of the European Economic Community stood side by side, offering an image of peace and culture to the visitors to Expo'92.

The Garden of Europe was conceived as a river, with four squares along the way, distinguished by their different colours. The blue square had sculptures dedicated to the wind, the yellow square was characterised by the "Washingtonia" palms, the green square by the "Phoenix" palms, and finally the white square by a square of orange trees with bleached trunks, arranged around a white marble basin.
Finally, the garden was surrounded by a curtain of cypress trees.

The twelve white canvas towers, 30 metres high, paid homage to the monastery of La Cartuja with its brick chimneys.

Finally, the umbrella roof, which consisted of a multitude of canvas squares linked together by tensioned cables, protected visitors from the sun and symbolised the link between the twelve states of the EEC.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Avenue de l'Europe


Avenue de l'Europe à l'exposition de Seville 1992

© Jean-Michel Colin
Architecte(s) : Jean-Marie Hennin et Georg Lippsmeier

Cette avenue, qui se composait d’un jardin, de douze tours en toile et d’un toit parasol, était avant tout l’avenue ou se côtoyait les douze pavillons de la communauté économique Européenne qui offrait une image de paix et de culture aux visiteurs de l’Expo’92.

Le jardin de l’Europe avait été conçu comme un fleuve, où le trajet était ponctué de quatre places qui distinguaient par leurs couleurs différentes. La place bleue accueillait des sculptures consacrées au vent, la place jaune se caractérisait par ces palmiers des « Washingtonia », la place verte avait quant à elle des palmiers « Phoenix », et enfin la place blanche qui se matérialisait par un carré d’orangers aux troncs blanchis, disposés autour d’un bassin de marbre blanc.
Enfin le jardin était entouré d’un rideau de cyprès.

Les douze tours en toile blanche de 30 mètres de haut, rendait hommage au monastère de la Cartuja avec ses cheminées en brique.

Enfin le toit parasol, qui était constitué d’une multitude de carrés de toile liés les uns aux autres par des câbles tendus, protégeaient les visiteurs du soleil et symbolisait le lien entre les douze états de la CEE.