Universal Exposition of Seville 1992 - Expo'92

The era of discovery

April 20, 1992 - October 12, 1992


Back - List of Pavilions

Alamillo Bridge and Viaduct

Alamillo Bridge and Viaduct at the Exhibition Seville 1992

© Andrew Dunn ( http://www.andrewdunnphoto.com )

Architect(s) : Santiago Calatrava

This road axis has two major works: the viaduct that crosses the island of La Cartuja and the suspension bridge that crosses the Guadalquivir. This structure was designed as an architectural work with all the problems that such a project implies, such as the problems of balancing the masses.

The viaduct, which is made up of a single piece, is 526.5 metres long, and its deck is, in cross section, a rounded arch with two levels.
The upper level is used by cars, while the lower level is used by pedestrians.
This arch rests on elliptical pillars, inclined at 58 degrees to the horizontal and located at 21 metre intervals.
Horizontal and zenithal openings in the deck give the whole an impression of lightness. The viaduct ends at both ends with buttresses, consisting of retaining walls, on which access stairs and pedestrian platforms are built.

The suspension bridge, the other major structure of the project, has a span of 200 metres. This bridge has a 140-metre-high pylon at one end, on the shore of the Isla de la Cartuja, which is also at an angle of 58 degrees to the horizontal, and is 138 metres high.
Thirteen pairs of steel cables support the deck, which is made up of a metal structure with a hexagonal box in the middle, where the cable anchors are located. From this box, metal brackets are placed on either side, every four metres, on which concrete slabs are supported, thus forming the deck that will support the traffic. The pedestrian passage is located on the upper part of the caisson.
The pylon is designed as a mixed structure of reinforced concrete on the inside and metal cladding on the outside. The two structures are joined by a roadway with a reinforced concrete overpass.

A technological challenge that cost almost 600 million francs for the most spectacular link from one bank of the Guadalquivir to the other.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Pont et Viaduc d'Alamillo


Pont et Viaduc d'Alamillo à l'exposition de Seville 1992

© Andrew Dunn ( http://www.andrewdunnphoto.com )
Architecte(s) : Santiago Calatrava

Cet axe routier comporte deux ouvrages majeurs qui sont : le viaduc qui traverse l’île de la Cartuja et le pont suspendu qui franchit le Guadalquivir. Cet ouvrage d’art a été conçu comme une œuvre architecturale avec tous les problèmes qu’un tel projet implique, comme les problèmes d’équilibrage des masses.

Le viaduc qui ce compose d’un seul tenant, mesure 526,5 mètres de long, et dont le tablier est, en coupe transversale, un arc arrondi à deux niveaux.
Au niveau supérieur passent les voitures, alors qu’en dessous passent les piétons.
Cet arc repose sur des piliers elliptiques , inclinés de 58 degrés par rapport à l’horizontale et sont situés à 21 mètres d’intervalle.
Des percements horizontaux et zénithaux du tablier donnent à l’ensemble un impression de légèreté. Ce viaduc se termine aux deux extrémités par des contreforts, constitués de murs de soutènement, sur lesquels sont aménagés des escaliers d’accès et des plateformes pour les piétons.

Le pont suspendu, l’autre grande structure de l’ouvrage, a une portée de 200 mètres. Ce pont comporte un pylône de 140 mètres de haut situé à une extrémité, sur la rive de l’île de la Cartuja, faisant lui aussi un angle de 58 degrés avec l’horizontale, et de 138 mètres de haut.
Treize couples de câbles en acier soutiennent le tablier qui comporte une structure métallique avec au milieu un caisson de section hexagonale, où sont logés les massifs d’ancrage des câbles. De ce caisson partent de par et d’autre, tous les quatre mètres, des consoles métalliques sur lesquelles s’appuient des dalles en béton, formant ainsi le tablier devant supporter le trafic automobile. Le passage pour les piéton se situant sur partie supérieure du caisson.
Le pylône, quant à lui, est conçu comme une structure mixte de béton armé pour l’intérieur et d’un revêtement métallique pour l’extérieur. Les deux structures se rejoignent par l’intermédiaire d’une chaussée sur terre-plein avec un passage surélevé en béton armé.

Un défi technologique qui a couté près de 600 millions de francs pour la liaison la plus spectaculaire d'une rive à l'autre du Guadalquivir.