Universal Exposition of Seville 1992 - Expo'92

The era of discovery

April 20, 1992 - October 12, 1992


Back - List of Pavilions

Turkey

Turkey at the Exhibition Expo Sevilla 1992

© Expo'92

Architect(s) : Oner Tokcan, Hulusi et Gonuln

In 1492, merchants from the two most powerful empires crossed the seas and reached the ports. The Spanish and the Ottomans exchanged their wealth and ideas.

So we want to take a look at the past and present of these peoples who crossed Europe in 1361 and established their capital. Their traditions, their resources, and the unique amalgam of cultures that have taken shape over the centuries to create the only country in the world where eighteen civilisations have flourished.

Turkey's textile industry is much older than the New World. Here we present our cultural heritage through an exhibition of textiles and costumes used in traditional daily life. With our exhibition of contemporary paintings, we hope to open a path to Europe where artists, descendants of several intermingling generations and ancient artistic traditions, share their unique visions with the world.

And when we look back to the past, which is much older than Europe itself, we still find commonalities between Anatolia and Spain. The bulls of Anatolia have resurrected and travelled to Spain to greet their fellow creatures, where to this day their pride and power are a model and whose ancestors can be found in the Museum of Anatolian Civilisation (8000 BC). We have thought of raising the symbol of their majesty which has been reflected throughout the history of Spain and Turkey.

© Official Guide Expo'92

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Turquie


Turquie à l'exposition de Seville 1992

© Expo'92
Architecte(s) : Oner Tokcan, Hulusi et Gonuln

En 1492, les marchands des deux empires les plus puissants franchissaient les mers et atteignaient les ports. Les espagnols et les Ottomans échangeaient leurs richesses et leurs idées.

Nous voulons donc jeter un coup d’œil sur le passé et le présent de ces peuples qui traversèrent l’Europe en 1361 et établirent leur capitale. Leurs traditions, leurs ressources, et l’amalgame exceptionnel des cultures qui ont pris forme au cours des siècles pour donner naissance au seul pays du monde où dix-huit civilisations ont fleuri.

L’industrie textile de Turquie est beaucoup plus ancienne que le Nouveau Monde. Nous présentions ici notre héritage culturel au moyen d’une exposition de textiles et de costumes utilisés dans la vie traditionnelle quotidienne. Avec notre exposition de peintures contemporaines, nous espérons frayer un chemin vers l’Europe où des artistes, descendants de plusieurs générations qui se sont brassées et de traditions artistiques anciennes, partagent avec le monde leurs visions uniques.

Et lorsque nous nous tournons vers le passé, bien plus vieux que l ‘Europe elle-même, trouvons encore des traits communs existant entre l’Anatolie et l’Espagne. Les taureaux d’Anatolie ont ressuscité et voyagé pour venir saluer en Espagne leurs semblables, où jusqu’à ce jour, leur orgueil et leur pouvoir sont un modèle et dont les ancêtres se trouvent au Musée des Civilisation Anatoliennes (8000 avant J.C) . Nous avons pensé à relever le symbole de leurs majesté qui fut reflétée à travers l’histoire de l’Espagne et de la Turquie.

© Guide Officiel Expo’92