Back - List of Pavilions

Thailand - Expo Sevilla 1992

Thailand at the Exhibition Expo Sevilla 1992
© Gaël Limpalaër
Architect(s) : Ayman Hamouda

Thailand is located in the heart of Southeast Asia and is surrounded by Malaysia to the south, Burma to the west, Laos to the north and Cambodia to the east. It has a coastline of 2400km.

The capital is Bangkok, the largest city with a population of over seven million. Central Thailand, including Bangkok, is a vast and fertile plain. The north is mountainous. The northeast is semi-arid. The southeast is tropical.

The Thai pavilion was a spherical, four-storey building of 900m2. The ground floor illustrated Thailand's trading history, displaying an ancient sailing ship, laid on the sand and decorated with goods dating back a few hundred years.

The second floor displayed a steamship, sitting in the centre of the hall and filled with various export goods. Between the first and second floors were exhibited illustrations relating to Thailand's international relations. On the third floor were illustrations relating to Thailand's international relations. On the third floor there was a summary of the two themes, plus a video about Thailand. Around the video screen, one could see handicrafts that reflect the development and mixing of technology and arts in a purely Thai style.

© Official Guide Expo'92

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Thaïlande


Thaïlande à l'exposition de Seville 1992

© Gaël Limpalaër
Architecte(s) : Ayman Hamouda

La Thaïlande est située au cœur de l’Asie du Sud-est et est entourée par la Malaisie au Sud, la Birmanie à l’ouest, le Laos au nord et de Cambodge à l’est. Son littoral compte 2400km.

La capitale est Bangkok, la ville la plus grande avec une population de plus de sept millions. Le centre de la Thaïlande, incluant Bangkok, est une plaine vaste et fertile. Le nord est montagneux. Le nord-est est semi-aride. Le sud-est tropical.

La pavillon thaï était un bâtiment de forme sphérique, de quatre étages ayant 900m2. Le rez-de-chaussée illustrait l’histoire du commerce de la Thaïlande, exposant un ancien navire à voile, déposé sur le sable et décoré au moyen de marchandises datant de quelques centaines d’années.

Le second étage exposait un paquebot à vapeur, trônant au centre du hall et rempli de différentes marchandises d’exportation. Entre le premier et le deuxième étage étaient exposées des illustrations relatives aux relations internationales de la Thaïlande. Le troisième étage était exposées des illustrations relatives aux relations internationales de la Thaïlande. Le troisième étage comprenait un résumé des deux thèmes évoqués, plus une vidéo sur la Thaïlande. Autour de l’écran vidéo, on pouvait apprécier un artisanat qui reflète le développement et le mélange de la technologie et des arts dans un style purement Thaï.

© Guide Officiel Expo’92