Universal Exposition of Seville 1992 - Expo'92

The era of discovery

April 20, 1992 - October 12, 1992


Back - List of Pavilions

Singapore

Singapore at the Exhibition Seville 1992

© Gaël Limpalaër

Architect(s) : Michel Ng, Conrad Design et Pacific Ltd

Singapore is a city of contrasts and surprises, offering the best of East and West, old and new. This was reflected in its pavilion, which encapsulated the multicultural heritage and diverse attractions of this tropical Southeast Asian city-state.

The pavilion was located, along with the other eight countries, within the ASEAN Plaza. The façade of its two-storey building characterised the intricate patterns of Singapore's ancient architecture.

Inside, the validity and excitement of Singaporean nightlife was brought to life by ephemeral art demonstrations such as calligraphy and finger painting, as well as by a tempting selection of typical food and souvenirs. Visitors could come and feast on various Chinese, Malay and Indian dishes, even if it was only to sample festive delicacies such as moon cakes and rice dumplings, and to enjoy Singapore's famous 'Sling'.

The upper level of the pavilion featured a thematic display of exhibits that illuminated Singapore's multifaceted charm. The backdrop was the dramatic skyline that depicted a modern and thriving metropolis.

© Official Guide Expo'92

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Singapour


Singapour à l'exposition de Seville 1992

© Gaël Limpalaër
Architecte(s) : Michel Ng, Conrad Design et Pacific Ltd

Singapour est une cité de contrastes et de surprises, qui offre le meilleur venu de l’Est et de l’Ouest, de l’ancien et du neuf. Cela se reflétait dans son pavillon, qui enserrait l’héritage multiculturel et les diverses attractions de cette cité-état tropicale du Sud-est asiatique.

Le pavillon était situé, avec les autres huit payses, à l’intérieur de la Place ASEAN. La façade de son bâtiment à deux étages caractérisait les motifs compliqués de l’architecture ancienne de Singapour.

A l’intérieur, la validité et l’excitation de la vie nocturne se Singapour étaient rendues vivantes grâce aux démonstrations artistiques éphémères telles que la calligraphie et la peinture au doigt, et aussi par une alléchante sélection de mets et de souvenirs typiques. Les visiteurs pouvaient venir festoyer en goutant aux différents-plats chinois, malais et indiens, ne fut-ce que déguster quelques délicatesses de fête comme les gâteaux de lune ou les boulettes de riz, et savourer le fameux « Sling » de Singapour.

Le niveau supérieur du pavillon mettait en valeur tout un déploiement thématique d’objets d’exposition éclairant le charme multiple de Singapour. Comme toile de fond surgissait sa dramatique ligne d’horizon qui dépeignait une métropole moderne et florissante.

© Guide Officiel Expo’92