Universal Exposition of Seville 1992 - Expo'92

The era of discovery

April 20, 1992 - October 12, 1992


Back - List of Pavilions

La Rioja

La Rioja at the Exhibition Seville 1992

© Expo'92

Architect(s) : Raul Gonzala Zarandona et Juliàn Torres Castillo

At the 1992 Seville World Fair, the pavilion of La Rioja presented, in its form and content, the richness of the history and culture of this region, its present-day rigour and its avant-gardism. Attributes that are a faithful reflection of the present and the future, of what this region is and what it will be.

The people of La Rioja are rich in customs and traditions. A people with their own culture and a growing industry.

It was in the heart of La Rioja that the first words of the language spoken today by a large part of humanity were written. Since then, a long road has been travelled, and this community is among the first in the country. Its people, its culture, its industry are moving towards a bright future.

His important contribution to the development of Expo'92 showed his place in the age of discovery and the richness of his personality.

An open and receptive personality, well disposed towards the traveller. La Rioja, located at a crossroads of natural paths, has known how to combine the different peripheral cultures with measure and independence. It has slowly forged a cultural idiosyncrasy, and good food, good wine and the birth of our Castilian language have shaped a people, in the best sense of the word, that are cultured and hospitable.

© Official Guide Expo'92

Retour - Liste Pavillons

La Rioja


La Rioja à l'exposition de Seville 1992

© Expo'92
Architecte(s) : Raul Gonzala Zarandona et Juliàn Torres Castillo

A l’Exposition Universelle Séville 1992, le pavillon de La Rioja présentait, par sa forme et par son contenu, à la fois la richesse de l’histoire et de la culture de cette région, sa rigueur actuelle tournée vers l’avenir, et son avant-gardisme. Attributs qui sont le reflet fidèle du présent et de l’avenir, de ce qu’est et de ce que sera cette région.

Les habitants de La Rioja sont riches en coutumes et traditions. Un peuple ayant une culture propre et une industrie en plein essor.

C’est au cœur de La Rioja que furent écrits les premiers mots de la langue parlée aujourd’hui par une grande partie de l’humanité. Depuis, un long chemin a été parcouru, et cette communauté se trouve parmi les premières du pays. Son peuple, sa culture, son industrie s’acheminent vers un avenir brillant.

Son importante contribution au déroulement de Expo’92 montrait sa place dans l’ère des découvertes et la richesse de sa personnalité.

Personnalité ouverte et réceptive, bien disposée à l’égard du voyageur. La Rioja, située sur un carrefour de chemins naturels, a su conjuguer les différentes cultures périphériques avec mesure et indépendance. Elle s’est lentement forgée une idiosyncrasie culturelle et la bonne table, le bon vin et la naissance de notre langue castillane ont façonné un peuple, au bon sens du terme, cultivé et hospitalier.

© Guide Officiel Expo’92