Back - List of Pavilions

Euskadi (Basque Country) - Expo Sevilla 1992

Missing picture
Architect(s) : Luis Angoloti et Apolinario Fernandez de Sousa

Although they have moved in an anti-clockwise direction, the Basque people have survived thanks to their historical adaptability, constantly evolving without autarky.

A local evolution of Cro-Magnon man, the Basque people are the oldest in Europe. Their language has no known affinities, and has reached us since pre-Indo-European times.

The Basque people celebrated their Junta, a democratic institution where the Fuero, the Vieja Ley, was established, in a circle and with mutual protection.

The Basque people knew how to travel, explore and discover, admire and adapt. Juan Sebastian Elcano, who circumnavigated the known world, was a Basque. So was Juan de Carai, Pedro de Ursua, Urdaneta, Lope de Aguirre...

He always turned food into culture, work into sport. With a practical and conservative mentality, the Basque have managed to combine tradition and modernity, artisanal techniques and a high degree of technological development, ancestral rites and avant-garde art. In their struggle to preserve Euskera, the old lingua navarrorum, they have managed to create their own educational system.

The Basque knows that loving his homeland means respecting that of others, because only harmony and solidarity can ensure the future of peoples. Open to renovation, to technology, to growth, open in short to all worlds, knowing that work, tenacity and optimism are the best assets to forge an identity: by surpassing oneself. By singing. By working. By dancing.

© Official Guide Expo'92

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Euskadi (Pays Basque)



Architecte(s) : Luis Angoloti et Apolinario Fernandez de Sousa

Bien qu’il aille dans le sens inverse des aiguilles d’une montre, le peuple basque a survécu grâce à sa faculté d’adaptation historique, évoluant constamment, sans autarcie.

Evolution locale de l’homme de Cro-Magnon, le peuple basque est le plus ancien d’Europe. Sa langue n’a pas d’affinités connues, et nous est parvenue depuis le pré-indoeuropéen.

C’est en cercle et en se protégeant mutuellement que le peuple basque célébrait ses Juntes, institution démocratique où s’établissait le Fuero, la Vieja Ley.

Le Basque a su voyager, explorer et découvrir, s’admirer et s’adapter. Juan Sebastian Elcano, celui qui boucla le tour du monde connu, était un Basque. Comme l’était aussi Juan de Carai, Pedro de Ursua, Urdaneta, Lope de Aguirre…

Il a toujours transformé l’aliment en culture, le travail en sport. D’une mentalité pratique et conservatrice, les Basque sont parvenus à unir tradition et modernité, techniques artisanales et haut degré de développement technologique, rites ancestraux et art d’avant-garde. Dans sa lutte pour conserver l’Euskera, la vieille lingua navarrorum, il a réussi à créer son propre système éducatif.

Le Basque sait qu’aimer sa patrie oblige à respecter celle des autres, car seules l’harmonie et la solidarité peuvent assurer l’avenir des peuples. Ouvert aux rénovations, à la technique, à la croissance, ouvert en somme à tous les mondes, sachant que le travail, la ténacité et l’optimisme sont les meilleurs atouts pour forger une identité : par le dépassement de soi. En chantant. En travaillant. En dansant.

© Guide Officiel Expo’92