Universal Exposition of Seville 1992 - Expo'92

The era of discovery

April 20, 1992 - October 12, 1992


Back - List of Pavilions

ONCE

ONCE at the Exhibition Expo Sevilla 1992

© Alvaro Pinel

Architect(s) : Gilbert Barbany et Sebastiàn Mateu

ONCE (National Organisation of the Blind), an association with important historical roots, came, by delegation of the State, to draw attention to the problems of the blind and people with sight problems, to help them to have personal autonomy so that they could integrate into society. Over the last few decades, other disabled people have gradually joined the Organisation as workers, thus giving rise to the ONCE Foundation for the Cooperation and Social Integration of Disabled People, a state-level entity in which, in addition to ONCE as Founder, the main federations of disabled people are represented: COCEMFE (physical), FEAPS (mental), CNSE and FIAPAS (deaf), intervening in the different problems that affect them, while developing, for reasons of solidarity, programmes and actions in favour of other disabled people who are in a situation of extreme need and who are less protected or who do not have their own means to get by.

Both institutions took part in the Universal Exhibition in Seville in 1992, which has become a true international reference point, presenting a pavilion which combined the past, more than half a century of ONCE's history, the present reality, both that of the blind and that of other disabled people, and the work that both institutions are preparing for the future, in order to achieve the integration of all the collectives of this country into society and that, unlike today, they can live in what could be "a world without barriers".

With its glass facades, its 5 levels that were connected by panoramic lifts that facilitated the access of visitors to the different floors, the pavilion presented to the world the most advanced technologies that existed to eliminate barriers and integrate the different disabled communities into everyday life. There was a service for people with special needs, a whole range of assistance for people with disabilities, who could benefit from a free transport system appropriate to each disability, audiovisual and written information about the Exhibition, special visit circuits and an escort service for those who wished it.

© Official Guide Expo'92

Retour - Liste Pavillons

ONCE


ONCE à l'exposition de Seville 1992

© Alvaro Pinel
Architecte(s) : Gilbert Barbany et Sebastiàn Mateu

La ONCE (Organisation Nationale des Aveugles), une organisation de type associatif ayant d’importantes racines historiques, était venu, par délégation de l’Etat, pour attirer l’attention sur les problème concernant les aveugles et les personnes ayant des problèmes de vue, pour les aider à avoir une autonomie personnelle afin qu’ils puissent s’intégrer à la société. Depuis plusieurs dizaines d’années et petit à petit, se sont joints à l’Organisation d’autres handicapés, en tant que travailleurs, donnant ainsi naissance à la Fondation ONCE pour la coopération et l’intégration sociale de personnes handicapées ; une entité à niveau de l’état où sont représentées, outre la ONCE en sa qualité de Fondatrice, les principales Fédérations de handicapés : COCEMFE ( physiques), FEAPS (mentaux), CNSE et FIAPAS (sourds) , intervenant dans les différentes problématiques qui les touchent, tout en développant, pour des raisons de solidarité, des programmes et de actions en faveur d’autres handicapés qui se trouvent dans un situation de besoin extrême et qui sont moins protégés ou qui n’ont pas de moyens propres pour s’en tirer.

Les deux institutions participaient à l’Exposition Universelle de Séville 1992, devenue un véritable centre de référence international, en présentant un pavillon dans lequel se conjuguaient le passé, plus d’un demi siècle d’histoire de la ONCE, la réalité présente, tant celle des aveugles que celle des autres handicapés, et le travail que les deux institutions préparent pour l’avenir, afin de parvenir à ce que tous les collectifs de ce pays soient intégrés dans la société et que, contrairement à ce qui se passe aujourd’hui, ils puissent vivre dans ce qui pourrait être « un monde sans barrières ».

Avec ses façades en verre, ses 5 niveaux qui communiquaient entre eux au moyen d’ascenseurs panoramiques qui facilitaient l’accès des visiteurs aux différents étages, le pavillon présentait au monde les technologies les plus avancées qui existaient, pour éliminer les barrières et intégrer les différentes collectivités de handicapés à la vie quotidienne. On y trouvait un service d’Attention aux Personnes ayant des besoins particuliers, tout un éventail d’aide aux personnes handicapées, qui pouvaient bénéficier d’un système gratuit de transport approprié à chaque handicap, d’une information audiovisuelle ou écrite de l’Exposition, de circuits spéciaux de visite, et d’un services d’accompagnement pour ceux qui le souhaite.

© Guide Officiel Expo’92