Back - List of Pavilions

Nature Pavilion and Garden of the Americas -

Nature Pavilion and Garden of the Americas at the Exhibition Expo Sevilla 1992
© Expo'92
Architect(s) : Luis Fernando Gòmez-Stern

The Nature Pavilion and the Garden of the Americas were a contribution to the growing awareness of the natural environment, especially in the Americas.

The Nature Pavilion presented to the visitor the natural systems of Latin America, their importance at a global level, and the problem of their preservation, from a current perspective and on a scientific basis

The first room, dedicated to the Amazonian forest, was a large greenhouse where an Amazonian rainforest was staged, with a complement of the most important details of life in the jungle. The Latin American nature room presented the variety of American natural environments. The visitor, on a transparent platform, can observe a large model of the physical geography of Latin America. On the sides, a large number of screens showed a series of images of the region's ecosystems.

On the first floor, Nature to Discover was an audiovisual room where a 20-minute, 70mm silent film was projected in the Showscan system, showing footage from the Old World and the New World. The Preserve Nature room on the ground floor carried a message about the need to conserve and preserve Nature. Man was the primary destroyer, and development and preservation of nature must be compatible. Finally, the expeditions of the Spanish Naturalists to America were presented, as well as the work of the different non-governmental organisations that work for the preservation of Nature.

The Garden of the Americas was a tribute to the products from America that have profoundly transformed the way of life in this part of the Atlantic. It included a greenhouse and a shade area that allowed plants from a wide range of environments to be grown, in some cases with a heating system and in others with light filtration systems. The 400 varieties of shrubs, trees, climbers, palms, herbs and cacti were grown under the Racine programme of cooperation with American countries. In addition to these species, there were agricultural products such as corn, squash, potatoes, tomatoes and tobacco, which were known thanks to the Discoveries and which arrived in Europe via Seville.

© Official Guide Expo'92

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Pavillon de la Nature et jardin des Amériques


Pavillon de la Nature et jardin des Amériques à l'exposition de Seville 1992

© Expo'92
Architecte(s) : Luis Fernando Gòmez-Stern

L’ensemble formé par le pavillon de la Nature et le jardin des Amériques était une contribution à la sensibilité croissante vis à vis des environnements naturels, et plus particulièrement ceux d’Amérique.

Le pavillon de la Nature présentait au visiteur les système naturels de l’Amérique Latine, leur importance au niveau mondial, et le problème de leur préservation , en partant de la perspective actuelle et d’une base scientifique

La première salle, consacrée à la foret d’Amazonie, était une grande serre ou l’on mettait en scène une foret humide amazonienne, avec un complément de détails les plus importants de la vie dans la jungle. La salle de la nature Latino-Américaine présentait la variété des milieux naturels américains. Le visiteur, sur une estrade transparente, peut observer une grande maquette de la géographie physique de l’Amérique Latine. Sur les côtés, un grand nombre d’écrans montraient une suite d’images sur les écosystèmes de la région.

Au premier étage, la Nature à Découvrir était une salle d’audiovisuel où l’on projetait un film muet de 20 minutes et 70mm en système Showscan, qui montrait des séquences du Vieux Monde et du Nouveau Monde. La salle Préservons la Nature, au rez-de-chaussée, lançait un message sur le besoin de conserver et préserver la Nature. L’homme était le premier destructeur, il faut arriver à ce que la développement et la préservation de la Nature soient compatibles. Finalement, on présentait les expéditions des Naturalistes Espagnols en Amérique, et l’action des différentes organisations non-gouvernementales qui travaillent à la préservation de la Nature.

Le jardin des Amériques était un hommage aux produits provenant d’Amérique qui ont profondément transformé les modes de vie de cette partie de l’Atlantique. Il comprenait une serre et une zone d’ombre qui permettaient de cultiver des plantes provenant des milieux les plus divers, grâce à un système de chauffage, dans certains cas ; ou à des systèmes de filtration de la lumière, dans d’autres. Les 400 variétés d’arbustes, arbres, plantes grimpantes, palmiers, herbes et cactus provenaient du programme Racine de coopération avec les pays américains. A côté de ces espèces, on retrouvait des produits agricoles comme le maïs, la courge, la pomme de terre, la tomate, le tabac, connus grâce aux Découvertes et qui arrivèrent en Europe via Séville.

© Guide Officiel Expo’92