Back - List of Pavilions

Africa Plaza - Expo Sevilla 1992

Africa Plaza at the Exhibition Expo Sevilla 1992
© Expo'92
Architect(s) : Alvaro Navarro et Miguel Martinez

A melting pot of ethnicities and cultures. This is how we could define the building that housed fifteen participating countries. Africa Square was divided into two parts, one of which was reserved for the pavilions and was accessed by a footbridge over a pond that ran alongside a geometric glass building.

Here, the continent's great diversity could be seen. Angola presented its economic opportunities and the Congo its cultural history; Cape Verde, Saint Thomé and Prince's Island, Guinea Bissau explained how the indigenous heritage ; Athletics and literacy were Kenya's strengths, while Cameroon, Congo, Ivory Coast and Gabon focused on agricultural wealth and folklore; Nigeria and Zambia based their exhibition on economic opportunities; indigenous cultures took over the exhibition space in the case of Zimbabwe, Senegal and Nigeria.

One of the characteristics of the life of Africa Square during the six months of Expo'92 was its condition as a forum for meetings, both for the African countries themselves and for the rest of the world. It was for this reason that the building had an auditorium.

© Official Guide Expo'92

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Place d'Afrique


Place d'Afrique à l'exposition de Seville 1992

© Expo'92
Architecte(s) : Alvaro Navarro et Miguel Martinez

Un creuset d’ethnies et de cultures. Nous pouvions définir de la sorte ce bâtiment qui logeait quinze pays participants. La Place d’Afrique comprenait deux parties, dont l’une était réservée aux pavillons et à laquelle on accédait par une passerelle franchissant un étang qui longeait un bâtiment géométrique en verre.

Ici, on pouvait admirer la forte diversité du continent. L’Angola présentait ses possibilités économiques et le Congo l’histoire de ses cultures ; le Cap-Vert, Saint Thomé et l’île du prince, Guinée Bissau expliquaient comment l’héritage autochtone ;l’athlétisme et l’alphabétisation étaient les atouts du Kenya, tandis que le Cameroun, le Congo, la Côte-D’ivoire et le Gabon centraient leurs contenus sur la richesse agricole et le folklore ; le Nigéria et la Zambie basaient leur exposition sur les possibilités économiques ; les cultures autochtones accaparaient l’espace de l’exposition dans le cas du Zimbabwe, du Sénégal et du Nigéria.

Une des caractéristiques de la vie de la Place d’Afrique durant les six mois de l’Expo’92 était sa condition de forum de rencontres, tant pour les pays africain eux-mêmes que pour le reste du monde. C’était pour cette raison que le bâtiment avait un auditorium.

© Guide Officiel Expo’92