Back - List of Pavilions

Italy -

Italy at the Exhibition Expo Sevilla 1992
© Expo'92
Architect(s) : Gae Aulenti et Pierluigi Spadolini

Inventing implies an effort to bring the world more into line with one's own aspirations, to change it by interpreting its laws according to man's purpose.

Discovering, on the other hand, implies an effort to adhere to the world, to its rules, to its way of being.

Between Columbus and Vespucci - the former "inventing" the Indies where they could not be, the latter "discovering" the New World when the Old World ceased to be the only one - the great "game" of Italian genius is played, from Leonardo da Vinci to Galileo, from Volta to Fermi.

The pavilion's design was inspired by this double parallel itinerary: that of man, engaged in the increasingly complex and articulated creation of the relationship between self and other; that of culture, which appears first as a bridge between words and things, to finally reach the creative synthesis of a scenario where past and future converge in a difficult but imperative alliance in the present. A synthesis that, in the Italian tradition, has been and is expressed in a particular style, a creativity where form and function are happily integrated in an innovative perspective.

On this conceptual basis, the itinerary of the exhibition - distributed within the Italian pavilion, in a large central gallery on three levels - was articulated around main arguments, which defined a kind of cognitive sequence, the adventure of the gaze that gradually extended from the nearest to the farthest, to become an instrument capable of affecting reality:

The body (Interior and Exterior), which anatomy, medicine and biology have laid bare, revealing its secrets, and today seeking to simulate its senses and faculty more and more effectively.

The cosmos (Earth and Sky), from its pictorial and cartographic representation to its perception as a complex organism where everything fits together.

Technique (Processes and Products), i.e. rational and directed know-how, which strives to change the world through knowledge of its operating mechanisms.

Culture (Memory and Project), in the confluence of cognitive and operative impulse, in reference to that set of interests, opportunities and aspirations of a people and a country, which are defined as the "quality" of life.

© Official Guide Expo'92

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Italie


Italie à l'exposition de Seville 1992

© Expo'92
Architecte(s) : Gae Aulenti et Pierluigi Spadolini

Inventer suppose un effort pour amener le monde à être plus conforme à ses propres aspirations, pour le changer en interprétant ses lois selon la finalité de l’homme.

Découvrir suppose, en revanche, un effort pour adhérer au monde, à ses règles, à sa façon d’être.

Entre Colomb et Vespucci – le premier « inventant » les Indes là où elles ne pouvaient pas être, le second « découvrant » le Nouveau Monde quand le Vieux Monde cessa d’être le seul – se joue la grande « partie » du génie italien, de Léonard de Vinci à Galilée, de Volta à Fermi.

La scénographie du pavillon s’inspirait de ce double itinéraire parallèle : celui de l’homme, engagé dans la création de plus en plus complexe et articulée du rapport de soi à l’autre ; celui de la culture, qui apparaît d’abord comme un pont jeté entre les mots et les choses, pour parvenir enfin à la synthèse créative d’un scénario où passé et avenir convergent dans une alliance difficile mais impérative au présent. Une synthèse qui, dans la tradition italienne, s’est exprimée et s’exprime dans un style particulier, une créativité où s’intègrent avec bonheur la forme et la fonction dans une perspective innovatrice.

Sur cette base conceptuelle, l’itinéraire de l’exposition – distribuée au sein du pavillon de l’Italie, dans une grande galerie centrale selon trois niveaux – s’articulait autour de arguments principaux, qui définissaient une sorte de séquence cognitive, l(aventure du regard qui s(allongeait progressivement du plus proche au plus lointain, pour devenir un instrument à même d’avoir une incidence sur la réalité :

Le corps (Intérieur et Extérieur), que l’anatomie, la médecine, la biologie ont mis à nu, révélant ses secrets, et cherchant aujourd’hui à simuler des plus en plus efficacement ses sens et sa faculté.

Le cosmos (Terre et Ciel), de sa représentation picturale et cartographique à sa perception en tant qu’organisme complexe où tout se tient.

La technique (Processus et Produits), c’est-à-dire le savoir faire rationnel et dirigé, qui s’efforce de changer le monde grâce à la connaissance de ses mécanismes de fonctionnement.

La Culture (Mémoire et projet), dans la confluence de l’élan cognitif et de l’élan opératif, en référence à cet ensemble d’intérêts, d’opportunité et d’aspirations d’un peuple et d’un pays, qui se définissent comme « qualité » de la vie.

© Guide Officiel Expo’92