Universal Exposition of Seville 1992 - Expo'92

The era of discovery

April 20, 1992 - October 12, 1992


Back - List of Pavilions

France

France at the Exhibition Seville 1992

© Daniel Villafruela

Architect(s) : Jean-Paul Viguier, Jean-François Jodry et François Seigneur

Travelling through memory, exploring technological conquests, meeting the third millennium, the French pavilion offered an eloquent demonstration of its contribution to universal culture, with the central theme of Discovery through Knowledge.

The architecture of the pavilion itself was already a tribute to culture and technology.

Sheltered by a 2,500 square meter "blue sky" roof, the visitor was welcomed on a forecourt made of glass slabs where the logos of the French companies, local authorities, major institutions and organizations participating in the exhibition were silk-screened.

On one side of the forecourt, a mirror building housed, on two floors, the historical exhibition: an imaginary library and models of Paris neighbourhoods, staging the history of the transmission of messages through the centuries.

Under the forecourt, the promenoir was a space where the most recent technological innovations of French industry were exhibited in partnership with companies and local authorities.

In the centre of the promenoir, the Image well, thanks to a giant screen of 500 m2 placed at a depth of 20m, lined with mirror walls reflecting the image to infinity, offered a vertiginous spectacle of the universe: three films projected in Imax system, which the spectator could see from the promenoir or by taking two conveyor belts which crossed and overhung this well.

Finally, a 170-seat auditorium where symposiums and conferences were organised, two reception rooms for public relations, a 90-seat "Grande Carte" restaurant, and a boutique for contemporary designers completed this journey through French culture, without forgetting the French "arts and entertainment" programme on the Exhibition site and the events of 6 May, France Day at Expo'92, and 14 July, French Fashion Day.

© Official Guide Expo'92

Retour - Liste Pavillons

France


France à l'exposition de Seville 1992

© Daniel Villafruela
Architecte(s) : Jean-Paul Viguier, Jean-François Jodry et François Seigneur

Voyages à travers la mémoire, exploration des conquêtes technologique, rencontre avec le troisième millénaire, le pavillon de la France proposait une démonstration éloquente de sa contribution à la culture universelle, avec pour thème central la Découverte par le Savoir.

L’architecture même du pavillon était déjà un hommage à la culture et à la technologie.

A l’abri d’un toit carré de « ciel bleu » de 2500m2, le visiteur était accueilli sur un parvis composé de dalles de verres où étaient sérigraphies les logos des entreprises, collectivités locales, grandes institutions et organismes français qui participaient à l’exposition.

Sur un côté du parvis, un bâtiment-miroir abritait, sur deux étages, l’exposition historique : bibliothèque imaginaire et maquettes de quartiers de Paris, mise en scène de l’histoire de la transmission des messages à travers les siècles.

Sous le parvis, le promenoir était un espace déambulatoire où étaient exposées les plus récentes innovations technologiques de l’industrie française en partenariat avec les entreprises et les collectivités locales.

Au centre du promenoir, le puits d’Image, grâce à un écran géant de 500 m2 placé à 20m de profondeur, bordé de parois miroir reflétant l’image à l’infini, offrait un spectacle vertigineux de l’univers :trois films projetés en système Imax, que le spectateur pouvait voir à partir du promenoir ou en empruntant deux tapis roulants qui traversaient et surplombaient ce puits.

Enfin un auditorium de 170 places où étaient organisés colloques et conférences, deux salons de réception pour les relations publiques, un restaurant « Grande Carte » de 90 couverts, une boutique accueillant les designers contemporains complétaient ce voyage à travers la culture française, sans oublier la programmation française « arts et spectacles » sur le site de l’Exposition et les événement du 6 mai, Jour de la France à Expo’92, et du 14 juillet, journée de la mode française.

© Guide Officiel Expo’92