Back - List of Pavilions

I.O.C - Expo Sevilla 1992

I.O.C at the Exhibition Expo Sevilla 1992
© Alvaro Pinel
Architect(s) : Pedro Ramirez Vàzquez

For the first time in its history, the International Olympic Committee was present at a world exhibition, on the occasion of Expo'92 in Seville and the Olympic Games in Barcelona. The main objective of the pavilion was to publicise the aims of the Olympic movement and to establish a link between sport and culture, developing the physical, moral and spiritual qualities of humanity.

The design of the building was inspired by a Greek temple, where classical forms and avant-garde structures were harmoniously combined.

The building was rectangular in plan and consisted of an entrance atrium, a vestibule and, in the extension, the exhibition hall.

At the entrance stood a three-metre-high Olympic torso by the Andalusian sculptor Berrocal. The sculpture consisted of six vertical elements supported on a base with an internal mechanism that allowed it to move. The work was created especially for the exhibition of the International Olympic Committee pavilion in Seville and was placed in the sculpture park of the Olympic Museum in Lausanne after the exhibition.

Inside, there were exhibitions relating to Lausanne, the headquarters of the International Olympic Committee, the Olympic Games of Barcelona '92 and future headquarters: Lille-Hammer '94, Atlanta '96 and Nagano '98.

Finally, in the pavilion's gardens, the cauldron where the Olympic flame burns was placed.

The building, of a permanent nature, was preserved as a symbol of the cooperation between the International Olympic Committee and the city of Seville, and was taken over by the company Sodian in 1993, in order to be integrated into the Cartuja'93 project.

© Official Guide Expo'92

Retour - Liste Pavillons

C.I.O


C.I.O à l'exposition de Seville 1992

© Alvaro Pinel
Architecte(s) : Pedro Ramirez Vàzquez

Pour la première fois de son histoire, le Comité International Olympique était présent dans une exposition universelle, et ce à l’occasion de l’Expo’92 à Séville et des Jeux Olympique de Barcelone. L’objectif principal du pavillon était de faire connaître les buts du mouvement olympique, et établir un lien entre le sport et la culture, en développant les qualités physiques, morales et spirituelles de l’humanité.

Le plan de la construction s’inspirait d’un temple grec, où formes classiques et structures d’avant-garde se mêlaient harmonieusement.

L’édifice était un plan rectangulaire articulé en un atrium d’entrée, un vestibule et, dans le prolongement, le salon d’exposition.

A l’entrée se détachait un torse olympique de trois mètres de haut, réalisation du sculpteur andalou Berrocal. La sculpture se composait de six éléments verticaux appuyés sur un socle doté d’un mécanisme interne qui permettait son mouvement. Cette œuvre avait été créée tout spécialement pour l’exposition du pavillon du Comité International Olympique à Séville et fut placée, après l’exposition, dans le parc des sculptures du Musée Olympique de Lausanne.

A l’intérieur avaient lieu des expositions ayant trait Lausanne, siège du Comité International Olympique, aux Jeux Olympiques de Barcelone 92 et aux futurs sièges : LilleHammer 94, Atlanta 96 et Nagano 98.

Pour finir, dans les jardins du pavillon, on avait placé la vasque où brule la flamme olympique.

L’édifice, de caractère permanent, fut conservé comme symbole de la coopération entre le Comité International Olympique et la ville de Séville, et pris en charge par l’entreprise Sodian à partir de 1993, afin de s’intégrer au projet Cartuja’93.

© Guide Officiel Expo’92