Universal Exposition of Seville 1992 - Expo'92

The era of discovery

April 20, 1992 - October 12, 1992


Back - List of Pavilions

Catalonia

Catalonia at the Exhibition Expo Sevilla 1992

© Alvaro Pinel

Architect(s) : Pedro Limona, Xavier Ruiz, Graphisme mural et Antoni Tàpies

Catalonia is a land of distinction, which, due to its geographical location and history, has received the most diverse cultural influences, and has created and disseminated both new techniques and new cultural forms. Over the centuries, it has created its own culture, from which have sprung figures of truly universal prestige, especially in the field of music and the plastic arts. This is the essential element that inspired the contents of the pavilion of Catalonia, based on two principles that have been maintained throughout the centuries: tradition and modernity.

The Romanesque and Gothic styles were represented by works of religious art representative of these periods.

The music of this period was represented by one of the most prestigious ensembles: the Royal Chapel of Catalonia.

Another essential moment in Catalan culture was Modernisme, with world-renowned figures such as Gaudi and Domènech i Montaner.

The revaluation of medieval art into a synthesis of tradition and modernity, together with the rebirth of the Catalan language and governmental institutions during this century, was one of the most original contributions of the pavilion.

The artistic avant-garde of the 20th century is explained by the contributions of great artists such as the architect Josep Sert, the painters Miro, Dali and Tapies, or the musicians Pau Casals and Robert Gerhard.

Music, art and gastronomy create links between peoples and individuals, and the Pavilion of Catalonia aimed to make the cultural reality of Catalonia known to all visitors, as a testimony of cordial coexistence.

© Official Guide Expo'92

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Catalogne


Catalogne à l'exposition de Seville 1992

© Alvaro Pinel
Architecte(s) : Pedro Limona, Xavier Ruiz, Graphisme mural et Antoni Tàpies

La Catalogne est un pays de marque, qui, par sa situation géographique et son histoire, a reçu les plus diverses influences culturelles, et qui a créé et diffusé à la fois de nouvelles techniques et de nouvelles formes culturelles. Au cours des siècles, elle s’est créée une culture propre d’où ont jailli des personnages ayant un véritable prestige universel, spécialement dans le domaine de la musique et des arts plastiques. Voilà l’élément essentiel qui inspirait les contenus du pavillon de la Catalogne, fondés sur deux principes maintenus tout au long des siècles : la tradition et la modernité.

Les styles roman et gothique étaient représentés par des œuvres d’art religieux représentatives de ces périodes.

La musique de cette époque était présente grâce à un des ensembles les plus prestigieux : la Chapelle Royale de Catalogne.

Un autre moment essentiel de la culture catalane était le Modernisme, avec des personnages reconnus mondialement comme Gaudi et Domènech i Montaner.

La revalorisation de l’art médiéval en une synthèse de tradition et de modernité, unies à la renaissance de la langue catalane et des institutions gouvernementales au x cours de ce siècle, était un des apports les plus originaux du pavillon.

L’avant-garde artistique du XXème siècle s’explique par les apports de grands artistes comme l’architecte Josep Sert, les peintres Miro, Dali et Tapies, ou les musiciens Pau Casals et Robert Gerhard.

La musique, l’art, la gastronomie créent des liens entre les peuples et les personnes, et le pavillon de la Catalogne se proposait de faire connaître la réalité culturelle de la Catalogne à tous les visiteurs, en un témoignage de cordiale coexistence.

© Guide Officiel Expo’92