Universal Exposition of Seville 1992 - Expo'92

The era of discovery

April 20, 1992 - October 12, 1992


Back - List of Pavilions

Cantabrian Region

Cantabrian Region at the Exhibition Seville 1992

© Expo'92

Architect(s) : Arnaud Sompairae, Alain Pelissier et Ricardo Piqueras

Throughout the history of Cantabria, the sea has been more than just the daily horizon of our coastal peoples; it has been an open door for the arrival of other people. The great experience in navigation in the Bay of Biscay and the mastery of shipbuilding techniques could not leave us on the sidelines of the exploratory enterprise. It was therefore no coincidence that sailors such as Juan de la Cosa, master of the Santa Maria, worked alongside Columbus.

The pavilion met national criteria. Both in the external structure, which symbolically recalled the Santa Maria ship, and in its interior - a reproduction of the Altamira Caves - we tried to faithfully reflect all aspects of Cantabria: history, nature, culture, art...

We wanted all the inhabitants of the mountain to participate in a history in which they were and will be the protagonists, and that the bridges linking Spain and America that our forefathers established continue to exist.

© Official Guide Expo'92

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Région Cantabrique


Région Cantabrique à l'exposition de Seville 1992

© Expo'92
Architecte(s) : Arnaud Sompairae, Alain Pelissier et Ricardo Piqueras

Au cours de l’histoire de la Cantabrie, lamer fut autre chose que l’horizon quotidien de nos peuples de la côte ; ce fut une porte ouverte à l’arrivée d’autres gens. La grande expérience en navigation dans le golfe de Gascogne et la maitrise de la technique de construction des vaisseaux ne pouvaient nous laisser en marge de l’entreprise exploratrice. Ce ne fut donc pas fortuit qu’auprès de Colomb se trouvèrent des marins comme Juan de la Cosa, maître de la Santa Maria.

La pavillon répondait à des critères de nationalité. Tant dans la structure externe, qui rappelait symboliquement la nef Santa Maria, que dans ses dépendances intérieures – une reproduction des Grottes d’Altamira – nous avons essayé de refléter fidèlement tous les aspects de la Cantabrie : l’histoire, la nature, la culture, l’art…

Nous désirions que tous les habitants de la montagne, participent à une histoire dont ils furent et seront les protagoniste, et que continuent à exister les ponts unissant l’Espagne et l’Amérique que nos aïeux établirent.

© Guide Officiel Expo’92