Universal Exposition of Seville 1992 - Expo'92

The era of discovery

April 20, 1992 - October 12, 1992


Back - List of Pavilions

Canary Islands

Canary Islands at the Exhibition Seville 1992

© Alvaro Pinel

Architect(s) : José Manuel Barrio Losada et César Mezquita

The only mythological animal, man, placed them on the most ancient maps, when the gods inhabited the skies and fire was the forge of life. The Canary Islands were there, in the Atlantic, sound and blue, open to the four winds and scanning the horizons of Africa and America. Between the sky and the sea, this is the historical adventure of the Canaries, the last port of Europe and, on the way back, the first port of America.

A volcanic land in its original remains, the Canaries unfold their future as a thoughtful ship, connected to the world by the idiosyncrasy of its inhabitants, by the particular eclecticism of its islands, by the synthetic and friendly way in which its inhabitants have known and know how to welcome visitors: as if they were islanders.

This land was sung by poets, foreigners and natives, and proclaimed an open port, an entrance and exit for travellers who marvelled at its mysteries, its treasures and its Edenic landscapes. Humboldt knelt before the natural chapel of the Orotava. And the gods that the conquerors did not manage to expel in their violent irruption, still live there, mythical, hiding in the Valley of Ucanca, in Tenerife.

Between the past and the future, at the end of the century, the Canary Islands are re-establishing their image in the world of future culture as one of the most transparent regions of the moment, in whose depths the fire still exercises its secret alchemy: Timanfaya is the daily witness and irrefutable proof of this.

Finally, the sea is no more than thousands of old and new furrows that renew the paths of the western world. And floating on the Atlantic, azure with centuries and fire, is a unique land, respectful and haughty like the solitary birds, the Canaries, the islands of the future.

© Official Guide Expo'92

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Iles Canaries


Iles Canaries à l'exposition de Seville 1992

© Alvaro Pinel
Architecte(s) : José Manuel Barrio Losada et César Mezquita

Le seul animal mythologique, l’homme, les plaça sur les cartes les plus anciennes, lorsque les dieux habitaient les cieux et lorsque le feu était la forge de la vie. Les Canaries se trouvaient là, dans l’Atlantique, sonore et bleu, ouvertes aux quatre vents et scrutant les horizons de l’Afrique et de l’Amérique. Entre le ciel et la mer, c’est l’aventure historique des Canaries, le dernier port d’Europe et, au retour, le premier port d’Amérique.

Terre volcanique en ses vestiges d’origine, les Canaries déploient leur futur comme navire prévenant, relié au monde par l’idiosyncrasie des ses habitants, par l’éclectisme particulier de ses îles, par la façon synthétique et aimable avec laquelle ses habitant ont su et savent accueillir les visiteurs : comme s’ils étaient insulaires.

Cette terre fut chantée par les poètes, étrangers et indigènes, et proclamée port ouvert, entrée et sortie pour les voyageurs qui s’émerveillèrent, ébahis par ses mystères, ses trésors et ses paysages édénique. Humboldt se mit à genoux devant la chapelle naturelle de l’Orotava. Et les dieux que les conquérants ne parvinrent pas à expulser lors de leur irruption violente, habitent toujours là, mythiques, se cachant dans la Vallée d’Ucanca , à Ténérife.

Entre le passé et l’avenir, en ce présent de fin de siècle, les Canaries se refont une image dans le monde de la culture de demain en tant que région parmi les plus transparentes du moment, dans les profondeurs desquelles le feu exerce encore ses alchimies secrètes : Timanfaya en est le témoin quotidien et la preuve irréfutable.

Enfin, la mer n’est pas plus que des milliers de sillons anciens et nouveaux qui renouvellent les chemins du monde occidental. Et flottant sur l’Atlantique, azurée par les siècles et le feu, se trouve une terre unique, respectueuse et altière comme les oiseux solitaires, les Canaries, les îles de l’avenir.

© Guide Officiel Expo’92