Back - List of Pavilions

Asturias - Expo Sevilla 1992

Asturias at the Exhibition Expo Sevilla 1992
© Expo'92
Architect(s) : Antonio Sanmartin et Ramòn Muñoz

The pavilion was designed by the architects Sanmartin and Muñoz. The competition jury described the project as "a building of great personality, suggestive and unconventional, with a crevice directed towards the lake that creates a space and climate clearly reminiscent of Asturias".

Especially noteworthy was the hypostyle hall, a tribute to the Asturian forest (this large atrium was covered by a structure that sketched the map of Asturias). The enveloping façade was also attractive, in oxidised copper (green), in keeping with the image of the Principality.

The pavilion had four floors: the last two housed the contents of the exhibition: on the first floor, a cosy cider house, a shop and a multi-purpose area; on the ground floor, an elegant restaurant and the administration area.

The contents of the exhibition, designed by the Asturian Chus Quitos, were an original sensorial scenography that invited fantasy, so much so that Expo'92 described it as "singular, imaginative and new, conceptually in its aesthetic implementation".

In the entrance hall, in the forest cave that received the visitor and protected him from the sun, the world tribute to the bear, one of the symbols of Asturias (and its mascot), took place.

© Official Guide Expo'92

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Asturies


Asturies à l'exposition de Seville 1992

© Expo'92
Architecte(s) : Antonio Sanmartin et Ramòn Muñoz

Le pavillon était l’œuvre des architectes Sanmartin et Muñoz. Le jury du concours qualifia le projet un ‘édifice d’une grande personnalité, suggestif et peu conventionnel, avec une crevasse dirigée vers le lac qui crée un espace et un climat rappelant clairement les Asturies ».

Spécialement digne d’attention était la salle hypostyle, hommage à la forêt asturienne (ce grand atrium était couvert par une structure qui ébauchait la carte des Asturies). La façade enveloppante était aussi attrayante, en cuivre oxydé (vert) s’accordant ainsi à l’image de la Principauté.

Le pavillon avait quatre étages : dans les deux derniers, on trouvait les contenus de l’exposition : au premier, une cidrerie accueillante, un espace de magasins et un autre polyvalent ; au rez-de-chaussée, un élégant restaurant et la zone d’administration.

Les contenus de l’exposition, projet de l’asturien Chus Quitos, rassemblaient de façon originale une scénographie sensorielle qui invitait à la fantaisie, à tel point que l’Expo’92 la qualifia de « singulière, imaginative et nouvelle, conceptuellement dans ses mises en œuvre esthétiques ».

Dans le hall d’entrée, au sein de la grotte-forêt qui recevait le visiteur et le protégeait du soleil, avait lieu l’hommage mondial à l’ours, un des symboles des Asturies (et sa mascotte).

© Guide Officiel Expo’92