Back - List of Pavilions

Algeria - Expo Sevilla 1992

Algeria at the Exhibition Expo Sevilla 1992
© Expo'92
Architect(s) : Agustin Prudencio Diaz

Algeria entered history with the Berber kingdoms, the natives who called themselves "Amazigh", i.e. "free men", and then the Phoenicians, Romans, Vandals and Byzantines, until the arrival of the Arabs, bearers of a new spirituality and unifying ideals that cemented society and forged a national identity that the long colonial night did not manage to alter.

Expo'92, which was held in Andalusia, the high point of a common secular history, was an opportunity to present an Algeria that was strong in its identity, open to the fertile contributions of other cultures and resolutely committed to the modern era.

In its pavilion, it invited the visitor to a reading of history, illustrated by rock engravings, dolmens, Berber mausoleums, Roman cities, monuments of Islamic art, and by several collections of museum pieces, including coins from various periods.

One could also discover authentic traditional urban art and rural crafts; from the carpets, the visitor will retain in particular the warmth of the colours and the harmony of the geometrical designs; on the pottery, he will be initiated into the symbolism of the motifs.

The contemporary plastic arts were represented by the famous miniatures of Racim which told the epic of old Algiers and by the most prestigious paintings of Issiakhen, Khadda, Mesli and Martinez.

A wing of the pavilion was devoted to modern Algeria, which was working to promote its economic and social development.

We should mention the restaurant where, in a typically Algerian setting, the visitor could enjoy a completely original culinary art, and finally note that Algeria presented Andalusian music ensembles, ballets and amazing folklore groups.

© Official Guide Expo'92

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Algérie


Algérie à l'exposition de Seville 1992

© Expo'92
Architecte(s) : Agustin Prudencio Diaz

Entrée dans l’histoire avec les royaumes berbères, ces autochtones qui se dénommèrent « Amazigh », c’est-à-dire « les hommes libres », l’Algérie connaitra les Phéniciens, puis les Romains, les Vandales et les Byzantins, jusqu’à l’arrivée des Arabes, porteurs d’une nouvelle spiritualité et d’idéaux unificateurs qui cimenteront la société et forgeront une identité nationale que la longue nuit coloniale ne parviendra pas à altérer.

Expo’92, qui se tenait en Andalousie, haut lieu d’une histoire séculaire commune, était l’occasion de présenter cette Algérie forte de son identité, ouverte aux apports féconds des autres cultures et résolument engagée dans l’ère moderne.

Dans son pavillon, elle conviait le visiteur à une lecture de l’histoire, illustrée par des gravure rupestres, des dolmens, des mausolées berbères, des cités romaines, des monuments de l’art islamique, et par plusieurs collections de pièces de musées dont des pièces de monnaies d’époque diverses.

On y découvrait aussi un art traditionnel citadin et un artisanat rural, authentiques ; des tapis, le visiteur retiendra en particulier la chaleur des coloris et l’harmonie des dessins géométriques ; sur la poterie, il s’initiait à la symbolique des motifs.

Les arts plastiques contemporains étaient représentés par les célèbres miniatures de Racim qui contaient l’épopée de l’ancien Alger et par les plus prestigieuses toiles d’Issiakhen, Khadda, Mesli et Martinez.

Une aile du pavillon était consacrée à l’Algérie moderne qui œuvrait à promouvoir son développement économique et social.

Il nous faut signaler le restaurant où, dans un cadre typiquement algérien, le visiteur pouvait apprécier un art culinaire tout à fait original, et noter, enfin, que l’Algérie présentait des ensembles de musique andalouse, des ballets et d’étonnants groupes folkloriques.

© Guide Officiel Expo’92