Back - List of Pavilions

Telecommunications Pavilion -

Telecommunications Pavilion at the Exhibition Expo Sevilla 1992
© Jean-Michel Colin

It was one of the four pavilions in the Future Square. It introduced us to the sophisticated network that allows us to talk about the planet as a big global village, and showed us its repercussions in individual and collective life.

On the other hand, this exhibition showed the desire for greater citizen participation. It showed, throughout its course, the distance between the present reality and the possibilities of the future. The simple explanations in the Telecommunications pavilion made the exhibition very attractive and accessible to the general public.

The visit to the pavilion began with a videowall consisting of 848 screens: a huge map of the world. In this audiovisual game, one could see the process of telecommunications that made it possible to go beyond borders, time and distance. The communications of our time are defined by their immediacy and by the awareness of totality, and the elements on display followed this line of thought.

The assembly of this sample of the main communication centres in Europe was carried out by Telefonica de Espana, in collaboration with Belgacom, British Telecom, France Telecom, PTT Telecom, Stet and Telekom.

The state-of-the-art equipment on display showed the visitor the technological perspectives of this sector. The post-industrial era at the end of the century had rarely been so well presented. As a reference to the immediate application of the new means, we can mention the large fibre optic network, a sample of the future, which was installed at Expo'92

© Official Guide Expo'92

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Pavillon des Télécommunications


Pavillon des Télécommunications à l'exposition de Seville 1992

© Jean-Michel Colin

C’était un des quatre pavillons de la Place du Futur. Il nous présentait le réseau sophistiqué qui nous permet de parler de la planète comme un grand village global, et nous indiquait ses répercussions dans la vie individuelles et collective.

D’autre part, cette exposition manifestait le désir d’une plus grande participation des citoyens. Elle montrait, dans tout son parcours, la distance entre la réalité actuelle et les possibilités de l’avenir. Les explications simples du pavillon des Télécommunications rendaient cette exposition très séductrice, et la mettaient à la portée du grand public.

La visite du pavillon commençait par un vidéowall composé de 848 écrans : une immense carte du monde. Dans ce jeu audiovisuel, on pouvait voir le processus des télécommunications qui a permis d’aller au delà des frontières, du temps et des distances. Les communications de notre temps sont définies par leur caractère immédiat et par la conscience de la totalité, les éléments exposés suivaient cette lignes d’idées.

Le montage de cet échantillon des principaux centres de communication d’Europe avait été réalisé par Telefonica de Espana, en collaboration avec Belgacom, British Telecom, France Télécom, PTT Télécom, Stet et Telekom.

Le matériel de pointe qui était exposé montrait au visiteur les perspectives technologiques de ce secteur. L’ère postindustrielle de la fin du siècle avait rarement été si bien présentée. Comme référence à l’application immédiate des nouveaux moyens, nous pouvons citer le grand réseau de fibre optique, échantillon de l’avenir, qui avait été installé à Expo’92

© Guide Officiel Expo’92