Back - List of Pavilions

Alcatel Space Cinema - Expo Sevilla 1992

Alcatel Space Cinema at the Exhibition Expo Sevilla 1992
© Alvaro Pinel

The Alcatel cinema was different from other cinemas because of its futurism and because it literally immersed the viewer in its images. This effect was created by the semi-spherical shape of the screen - 24 metres in diameter - and by the inclination of the seats.

The film Eureka, The Passion of Knowing, a production financed by Alcatel in an exclusive Expo'92 project, was shown.

This film summarised five centuries of discoveries. In the space of 15 minutes, the most representative scenes of the human adventure of discovery of the last five centuries were reconstructed. This synthesis could only convey the sensation of a moment, through people, a place and an action: that of discovery.

The first circumnavigation of the globe, that of Magellan and Elcano; Newton's studies on the material nature of light; Leeuwenhoek's discovery of the microscope as a key element of science; the discovery of the paintings in the Altamira Caves... These were some of the great feats reconstructed in this film.

© Official Guide Expo'92

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Cinéma Spatial Alcatel


Cinéma Spatial Alcatel à l'exposition de Seville 1992

© Alvaro Pinel

La salle de cinéma Alcatel était différente des autres de par son futurisme et parce qu’elle plongeait littéralement le spectateur dans ses images. Cet effet était provoqué par la forme de demi-sphère de l’écran – 24 mètres de diamètre – et par l’inclinaison des sièges .

On y projetait le film Eureka !, La passion de connaître, production financée par Alcatel dans un projet exclusif d’Expo’92.

Ce film était résumé de cinq siècles de découvertes. En l’espace de 15 minutes, on avait reconstruit les scènes les plus représentatives de l’aventures humaine des découvertes des cinq derniers siècles. Cette synthèse ne pouvait transmettre que la sensation d’un instant, à travers des personnes, un lieu, et une action :celle de découvrir.

Le premier tour du monde, celui de Magellan et Elcano ; les études de Newton sur la nature matérielle de la lumière ; la découverte du microscope comme élément clé de la science, par Leeuwenhoek ; la trouvaille des peintures des Grottes de Altamira… C’était là quelques uns des grands exploits reconstruits dans ce film.

© Guide Officiel Expo’92