Back - List of Pavilions

Toshiba IHI - Expo Osaka 1970

Toshiba IHI at the Exhibition Expo Osaka 1970
© m-louis ( http://www.flickr.com/photos/m-louis/ )
Architect(s) : Noriaki Kurokawa

The computer-designed pavilion was jointly sponsored by Tokyo Shibaura Electric Co (Toshiba) and Ishikawajima-Harima Heavy Industries Ltd.

The result was to symbolise a "forest of the future". The exterior was composed of 1500 metal tetrahedrons welded together to form a striking structure. Suspended from this structure was the Global Vision Theater with 500 seats. Next to it was a tower, also made of tetrahedrons, which was illuminated at night for a spectacular effect.

"Light for Man" was the theme of the pavilion. The sponsors explained that the pavilion was dedicated to the hope that man has for the future and that "light" means intelligence and technical achievement.

A spacious reception hall welcomed visitors waiting to see the main exhibition. The waiting hall was air-conditioned and background music was played continuously.

To reach the Global Vision Theater, visitors boarded a rotating platform. The platform could accommodate 500 people at a time. The platform then climbed up and into the 360 degree theatre.... And so everyone could enjoy the presentation, the platform rotated from time to time.

The twenty-minute film was a documentary about young people from all over the world whose common task is to build the future of humanity. The film teams travelled the world to produce the film.

At the end of the film, the platform came down. Visitors were led to a 'park' underground via entrances below the platform. The basement was called the "Place of Water and Light". Sound and light effects highlighted the displays and passages to the "Plaza".

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Toshiba IHI


Toshiba IHI à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© m-louis ( http://www.flickr.com/photos/m-louis/ )
Architecte(s) : Noriaki Kurokawa

Le pavillon conçu par ordinateur et sponsorisé conjointement avec Tokyo Shibaura Electric Co (Toshiba) et Ishikawajima-Harima Heavy Industries Ltd.

Le résultat était de symboliser une « foret du futur ». L’extérieur était composé de 1500 tétraèdre en métal soudés ensemble pour former une structure percutante. Suspendu à cette structure le théâtre (Global Vision Theater) était constitué de 500 sièges. A coté ce situait une tour, aussi constitué de tétraèdres, et était illuminé la nuit venue pour un effet spectaculaire.

«Lumière pour l’homme » était le thème du pavillon. Les sponsors expliquaient que le pavillon était dédié l’espoir que l’homme a pour le futur et que « lumière » veut dire intelligence et achèvement technique.

Un hall de réception spacieux accueillait les visiteurs qui attendaient de voir l’exposition principale. Le hall d’attente avait l’air conditionné et une musique de fond était diffusé en permanence.

Pour atteindre le « Global Vision Theater », les visiteurs montaient à bord d’une plateforme rotative. La plateforme pouvaient accueillir 500 personnes à la fois. La plateforme montait alors et arrivait à l’intérieur du théâtre 360 degrés…. Et ainsi tout le monde pouvait apprécier la présentation, la plateforme tournait de temps en temps.

Le film d’une vingtaine de minutes était un documentaire sur les jeunes du monde entier ceux dont la tache commune sera de construire le futur de l’humanité. Les équipes du film ont parcouru le monde pour produire ce film.

A la fin du film, la plateforme descendait. Les visiteurs étaient conduit vers un « parc » en sous-sol via des entrées en dessous de la plateforme. Le sous-sol était appelé la « Place de l’eau et de la lumière ». Effet sonore et lumineux mettaient en valeur les affichages et les passages vers la « Plaza ».