Japan World Exposition - Osaka 1970 - Expo'70

Human progress and harmony

March 15, 1970 - September 13, 1970


Back - List of Pavilions

Telecommunications

Telecommunications at the Exhibition Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

Architect(s) : Building Engineering Bureau of NTT

In this pavilion, visitors could not only learn a lot about communications but also had the chance to communicate with people from all over the world.

The communication started already when the visitor was waiting to visit the pavilion. At the entrance, under the yellow sculpture that looked like a tent held up by steel cables, the latest world news was broadcast. Then escalators took the visitor into the pavilion.

The beginning of human communication is the sounds and cries of babies... and on the screens in the first section visitors could see babies from all over the world starting to communicate. It was a chance to talk to people from different countries as they appeared on the screens.

Then the visitor went to a triangular Eidophor gallery with each side 40 metres long. An Eidophor is three sides each consisting of a large television screen. The images shown on the screens were live images of Tokyo, Kyoto and a part of southern Japan, the island of Tanegashima. These live images were shown for the duration of the exhibition, 183 days.

In the general exhibition gallery, the telecommunications industry presented a wide range of new ideas. Videophones for international use. The "Music" composed by a switchboard operator. The world's first screen telephone with a wide range of colours and clarity was presented.

"Man and Communication" was the theme of the third part of the pavilion.

The Nippon Telegraph and Telephone Public Corporation and Kokusai Denshin Denwa Co. Ltd. were the sponsors of this pavilion, in cooperation with the Japanese Ministry of Posts and Japan Broadcasting Corporation (NHK). Kokusai Denshin Denwa's business areas were international telephone services, satellite communications and telex services.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Télécommunications


Télécommunications à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70
Architecte(s) : Building Engineering Bureau of NTT

Dans ce pavillon, les visiteurs pouvaient non seulement apprendre beaucoup de chose sur les communications mais avaient aussi la chance de communiquer avec des personnes partout dans le monde.

Les communications commençaient déjà quand le visiteur attendait pour visiter le pavillon. A l’entrée, sous la sculpture jaune qui ressemblait à une tente maintenant par des câbles en acier, les dernières nouvelles du monde étaient diffusées. Puis des escalators emmenaient les visiteur dans le pavillon.

Le début de la communication humaine c’est les sons et les cris de bébé… et sur les écrans dans la première section les visiteurs pouvaient voir des bébés du monde entier qui commençaient à communiquer. C’était une chance de parler avec des personnes de pays différents quand il apparaissaient sur les écrans.

Puis après le visiteur allait vers une galerie triangulaire Eidophor avec chaque coté de 40 mètres de long. Un Eidophor, c’est trois cotés formés chacun d’un grand écran de télévision. Les images diffusées sur les écrans étaient des images en Live de Tokyo, Kyoto et d’un partie du sud du Japon, l’île de Tanegashima. Ces images en Live furent diffusées durant toute la durée de l’expo, 183 jours.

Dans la galerie d’exposition générale, l’industrie des télécommunication présentait un large éventail de nouvelles idées. Les visiophones pour un usage international. « Music » composé par un standardiste. Le premier téléphone à écran au monde, offrant un large choix de couleurs et une grande clarté, était présenté.

« L’homme et la communication » était le thème de la troisième partie du pavillon.

Le « Nippon Telegraph » et « Telephone Public Corporation » et « Kokusai Denshin Denwa Co., Ltd » étaient les sponsors de ce pavillon, en coopération avec les ministère des postes Japonais et « Japan Broadcasting Corporation (NHK) ». Les domaines d’activités de Kokusai Denshin Denwa étants les services téléphoniques internationaux, les communications satellites et les services de Telex.