Back - List of Pavilions

Ricoh - Expo Osaka 1970

Ricoh at the Exhibition Expo Osaka 1970
© Expo'70
Architect(s) : Shoji Hayashi

There was no problem finding the Ricoh pavilion. It was the only one that was materialized by a huge balloon of 25 meters in diameter. Depending on the weather and the wind, this balloon floated in the air at varying heights, in the best of cases up to 55 metres high.

There were two possible visits to the pavilion, one inside during the day and one outside (looking at the balloon) at night.

During the night the huge balloon became a giant screen. Projectors and other electronic equipment projected abstract images up to fireworks images with changing colours and lights.

During the day, when the visitor looked at the balloon, he could see a huge eye in it, an eye that reflected the visitor and the other visitors around him. The theme of the Ricoh pavilion was "Illuminating through Expo'70", and the eye, the sponsor said, was "the best eye of humanity".

The balloon was what the sponsor called 'the floating vision' and the pavilion was 'the vision of space' and 'the intro vision'.

"The 'Space Vision' could be seen by taking a transporter around the outer circular wall of the building. Images were projected onto the surface of the wall, which varied according to the position of the visitor.

The "vision of space" was visible even during the day thanks to special equipment. The transporter, moreover, was air-conditioned.

"Intro Vision" was inside the exhibition hall.

Upon entering, the visitor was immersed in a large, silent space with a sense of timelessness. There was a unique audio equipment that produced sounds according to the images projected on the inner walls. Special seats, which could rotate in all directions, also created another sound sensation.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Ricoh


Ricoh à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70
Architecte(s) : Shoji Hayashi

Il n’y avait pas de problème pour trouver le pavillon Ricoh. C’était le seul qui était matérialisé par un énorme ballon de 25 mètres de diamètre. En fonction de la température et du vent, ce ballon flottait dans les airs à des hauteurs variables, dans le meilleur des cas il pouvait monter jusqu’à 55 mètres de hauteur.

Il y avait deux visites possibles du pavillon, l’une à l’intérieur le jour et l’autre à l’extérieur (en regardant le ballon) la nuit.

Durant la nuit l’énorme ballon devenait un écran géant. Des projecteurs et autres matériels électroniques projetaient des images abstraites jusqu’à des images de feux d’artifices avec des couleurs et lumières changeantes.

Durant le journée, quant le visiteur regardait le ballon, il pouvait y voir un énorme œil, un œil qui reflétait le visiteur et les autres visiteurs autour de lui. Le thème du pavillon Ricoh était « Eclairer par l’Expo’70 », et l’œil, disait le sponsor, était « le meilleur œil de l’humanité ».

Le ballon était ce que le sponsor appelait « la vision flottante » et le pavillon se présentait comme « la vision de l’espace » et « l’intro vision ».

« La vision de l’espace » pouvait être vu en prenant un transporteur roulant autour du mur circulaire extérieur du bâtiment. Des images étaient projetée sur la surface du mur, images qui variaient en fonction de la position du visiteur.

« La vision de l’espace » était visible même durant la journée grâce à un équipement spécial. Le transporteur, d’ailleurs, était climatisé.

« Intro vision » était à l’intérieur du hall d’exposition.

En entrant, le visiteur était immergé dans un grand espace silencieux avec le sentiment d’intemporalité. Il y avait un équipement audio unique qui produisait des sons en fonction des images projetées sur les murs intérieurs. Des sièges spéciaux, qui pouvaient tourner dans toutes les directions, créaient aussi une autre sensations sonore.