Japan World Exposition - Osaka 1970 - Expo'70

Human progress and harmony

March 15, 1970 - September 13, 1970


Back - List of Pavilions

Rainbow Tower

Rainbow Tower at the Exhibition Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

Architect(s) : Kiyoshi Seike

You had to be a little tired to visit this pavilion. This pavilion was just the thing to make you feel good.

Sponsored by the Japan Monopoly Corporation (a Japanese cigarette manufacturer), this 70-metre high conical tower was built with silver walls. The silver walls turn red at dusk and the lights of the night colour the structure in rainbow colours.

"Peace of mind" was the theme, which corresponded to a sub-theme of Expo'70 "Towards a more entertaining life".

On the first floor there was the "Forum of Rest" with music specially created by the Japanese composer Ikuma Dan.

Afterwards a circular lift, with room for 150 people, took you up to see a "smoking" show. This presentation combined smoke, light and sound. It took place on a huge wall, designed to create a unique environment and experience for visitors.

Afterwards, in seats in a semi-circular space you could watch a film projected on a large three-sided screen that appeared out of the ground. The four Japanese seasons and its traditional arts were the subjects of this film. It was, in any case, a special film that sought to "shake up the viewer" with action in the film.

After the film you could visit the "Resting Place" and the "Recreation Place". Both were located on the first floor.

Modern man, experts say, has lost much of his sensitivity due to the rapid advance of science and technology. So the rainbow tower served to isolate the visitor, for a short time, from the modern world. Some might find the visit a chance for a little meditation and self-reflection. Others found the silence and peace welcome. In any case, a visit to this pavilion was a welcome change of pace from the tiring Expo'70 tour.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Tour arc-en-ciel (Rainbow Tower)


Tour arc-en-ciel (Rainbow Tower) à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70
Architecte(s) : Kiyoshi Seike

Il fallait profier d’un peu de fatigue pour visiter ce pavillon. Ce pavillon était tout à fait désigné pour ce sentir bien.

Sponsorisé par le « Japan Monopoly Corporation » ( un fabriquant de cigarettes japonais) cette tour conique de 70 mètres de haut était construit avec des murs argentés. Les murs argentés deviennent rouge au crépuscule et les lumières de la nuit colore la structure en couleur de l’arc-en-ciel.

« Paix de l’esprit » était le thème, qui correspondait à un sous-thème de l’Expo’70 « Vers une vie plus amusante »

Au premier étage il y avait le « Forum du repos » avec des musiques spécialement créées par le compositeur japonais Ikuma Dan.

Après un ascenseur circulaire, pouvant accueillir 150 personnes, vous montait pour voir un spectacle « fumant ». Cette présentation combinait fumées, lumière et son. Ca se passait sur un mur gigantesque, conçu pour créer un environnement et une expérience unique pour les visiteurs.

Après, dans des sièges dans un espace semi-circulaire vous pouviez voir un film projeté sur un large écran à trois faces qui apparaissait hors du sol. Les quatre saisons japonaises et ses arts traditionnels étaient les sujets de ce film. C’était, dans tous les cas, un film spécial qui cherchait à « secouer le spectateur » avec de l’action dans le film.

Après le film vous pouviez visiter la « Place du repos » et la « place de la récréation ». Les deux étaient localisées au premier étage.

L’homme moderne, les spécialistes disent, a perdu beaucoup de sa sensibilité du à une avance rapide de la science et des technologies. Ainsi la tour arc-en-ciel servait à isoler le visiteur, un court instant, du monde moderne. Certains pouvait trouver que la visite était une chance pour un peu de méditation et de réflexion sur soi-même. Les autres trouvaient bienvenue le silence et la paix. En tous cas, la visite de ce pavillon était un changement de rythme bienvenu dans la fatigante visite de l’Expo’70.