Japan World Exposition - Osaka 1970 - Expo'70

Human progress and harmony

March 15, 1970 - September 13, 1970


Back - List of Pavilions

Pepsi

Pepsi at the Exhibition Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

Architect(s) : Takenaka Komuten Co., Ltd.

Enter the Pepsi pavilion and you enter a sound, visual and tactile environment never experienced before. You were a participant, not an observer, in a technological environment.

When you arrived at the pavilion you had a unique view, the white, domed pavilion surrounded by a mysterious fog and at night it was surrounded by a wall of light. On the square you could suddenly meet one of the 7 big men, in the shape of a floating dome which emitted wonderful sounds, and which changed direction immediately when you touched it.

You would enter a shiny tunnel and receive a small handset from a hostess dressed in silver. Each handset picked up audio signals from amplifiers buried in the ground as the visitor visited the pavilion.

Then you went to the clam room, so called because of its shape. The floor of the entrance was soft, you sank down to the first sounds of the handset. It was dark. But the light was coming from several sources; red, yellow, green and blue laser beams were moving with the sound.

After climbing some stairs, you entered a large dome, a world never experienced before. A 30 metre spherical mirror captured your image above, and reflected it back to you upside down. The floor in different sections was made of different material: you walked on a section with grass and then immediately after you heard birds, crickets, even a golfer; then came the asphalt section with sounds of city traffic, children playing in the street, fire trucks.

You moved across the room to see people taking their time, doing things, being involved. You had added a new and personal experience to your life.
The Pepsi pavilion was located in the southwest of Expoland.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Pepsi


Pepsi à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70
Architecte(s) : Takenaka Komuten Co., Ltd.

Entrez dans le pavillon Pepsi et vous entrez dans un environnement sonore, visuel et tactile jamais expérimenté auparavant. Vous étiez un participant, pas un observateur, dans un environnement technologique.

En arrivant sur le pavillon vous aviez une vue unique, le blanc, un pavillon dôme entouré par un brouillard mystérieux et la nuit tombée il était entouré par un mur de lumière. Sur la place vous pouviez soudainement rencontrer l’un des 7 grands hommes, en forme de dôme flottant qui émettait des sons merveilleux, et qui changeait de direction immédiatement quand vous le touchiez.

Vous rentriez dans un tunnel brillant et vous receviez un petit combiné d’une hôtesse habillée en argent. Chaque combiné captait les signaux audio des amplificateurs enterré dans le sol quand le visiteur visitait le pavillon.

Après vous alliez vers la pièce de palourde ainsi appelé à cause de sa forme. Le sol de l’entrée était doux, vous vous enfonciez vers les premiers sons du combiné. Il faisait noir. Mais la lumière venait de plusieurs sources ; des rayons lasers rouge, jaune, vert et bleu bougeaient en fonction du son.

Après avoir monté des escaliers, vous entriez dans un large dôme, un monde jamais expérimenté auparavant. Un miroir sphérique de 30 mètres capturait au-dessus votre image, et vous la renvoyait avec la tête en bas. Le sol en fonction des sections était constitué de matière différente : vous marchiez sur un section avec de l’herbe puis immédiatement après vous entendiez les oiseaux , le criquets même un golfeur ; puis venait la section en asphalte avec des sons du trafic urbain, des enfants qui jouaient dans la rue, des camions de pompier.

Vous bougiez à travers la pièce vers en voyant des personnes prendre leur temps, faisant des choses, en étant impliqué. Vous aviez ajouté à votre vie une nouvelle et personnelle expérience.
Le pavillon pepsi se situait au sud-ouest de l'Expoland.