Japan World Exposition - Osaka 1970 - Expo'70

Human progress and harmony

March 15, 1970 - September 13, 1970


Back - List of Pavilions

Mormon

Mormon at the Exhibition Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

Architect(s) : Masao Shiina

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, the Mormon Church, believed that the Expo'70 theme of "Progress and Harmony for Mankind" could not be achieved without spirituality. It was in this spirit that the Mormon pavilion presented the theme "Man's Search for Happiness".

As visitors approached the pavilion, they saw a four-metre high statue of the Angel Moroni at the top of a pole. This statue was a replica of the 117-year-old temple statue in Salt Lake City, Utah, the headquarters of the Church. Mormons believe that Moroni was sent by their Lord in 1823 to reveal to Joseph Smith the existence of a book written on gold plates. This Book of Mormon, engraved with ancient writings resembling a form of Egyptian hieroglyphics, had been translated by the Prophet Joseph Smith. The Mormons certified that it was only by the inspiration of the Lord that a young man of 23 could make such a translation.

This Book of Mormon could be purchased for 80 yen in the pavilion.

The visitor entering the Mormon pavilion was greeted by a 4-metre high statue of the Saviour, Jesus Christ, carved in Italian marble by famous Italian sculptors from Milan.

Upstairs, the guides explained the murals and transparent colours showing the writings of the Book of Mormon and the restoration of the Gospel of Jesus Christ to "every tribe, tongue and person" today.

The highlight of the exhibition, a 12-minute film on "Man's Search for Happiness" answered: Where do we come from? Why are we on earth? Is there life after death? Visitors were invited to reflect on the answers proposed by the Mormon Church.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Mormon


Mormon à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70
Architecte(s) : Masao Shiina

L’Eglise de Jésus-Christ des saints des derniers jours, l’Eglise Mormon, croyait que le thème de l’Expo’70 « Progrès et Harmonie pour l’humanité » ne pouvait être atteint sans spiritualité. C'était dans cet esprit, le pavillon Mormon présentait le thème « La recherche de l’homme pour le bonheur ».

En approchant du pavillon, le visiteur voyait une statue haute de 4 mètres de l’Ange Moroni en haut d'un mât. Cette statue était une réplique de celle du temple, vieille de 117 ans, de Salt Lake City dans l’Utah, siège de l’Eglise. Les Mormons croient que Moroni a été envoyé par leur Seigneur en 1823 pour révélé à Joseph Smith l'existence d'un livre écrit sur des plaques d'or. Ce livre de Mormon, gravé avec des écritures anciennes ressemblant à une forme de hiéroglyphes égyptiens, avait été traduit par le Prophète Joseph Smith. Les Mormons certifiaient que c’était seulement grâce à l'inspiration du Seigneur qu’un jeune homme de 23 ans pouvait faire une telle traduction.

Ce livre de Mormon pouvait être acheté pour 80 yens dans le pavillon.

Le visiteur entrant dans la pavillon Mormon était salué par une statue de haute de 4 mètres du Sauveur, Jésus Christ, sculptée dans du marbre italien par de célèbres sculpteurs italiens de Milan.

En haut, les guides expliquait les peintures murales et les couleurs transparentes montrant les écrits du Livre de Mormon et la rétablissement du Gospel de Jésus Christ pour « chaque tribu, langue et personne » de nos jours.

Le point culminant de l’exposition, un film de 12 minutes sur « La recherche de l’homme pour le bonheur » répondait : D’où venons nous ? Pourquoi sommes nous sur terre ? Y a-t-il une vie après la mort ? Les visiteurs étaient invités à réfléchir sur les réponses proposées par l’Eglise Mormon.