Japan World Exposition - Osaka 1970 - Expo'70

Human progress and harmony

March 15, 1970 - September 13, 1970


Back - List of Pavilions

Robot Fujipan

Robot Fujipan at the Exhibition Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

Architect(s) : Noboru Igarashi

An enchanted land for children or a view of the future for adults?

It was up to the visitor of the Fujipan Robot Pavilion to decide.

Since the sponsor, a food company from Nagoya, had chosen the theme "Children's Dreams", the idea was to be enchantment?

The pavilion's exterior looked like a slice of bread. (Or, according to many people, a strange caterpillar)

When you approached the pavilion you were greeted by a robot (except when it rained, in which case the robot welcomed you inside. When you left another robot said goodbye and stamped a souvenir of your visit.

Inside the building, it was truly "robot country"! The Robot Forest gave an understandable history of robots, with sounds and lights creating special effects. Robot mechanism and application were explained here.

The Robot City gave you a chance to have fun with the robots... and a chance to find out if the robots were like humans or if humans were like robots. In the theatre, robots were busy singing, dancing, making music, juggling and playing. There was also a Polaroid robot taking souvenir photos. The tallest of them was over 2.5 metres high.

Finally, robots building other robots were presented in the Future of Robots section. The capsules making robots were the main attraction. And gave you the chance to imagine the different future uses for humans of these robots.

Harmony is important between humans, but it is also important between man and machine. The Fujipan Robot Pavilion gave you some ideas about the different kinds of harmony.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Robot Fujipan


Robot Fujipan à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70
Architecte(s) : Noboru Igarashi

Un pays enchanté pour les enfants ou une vue du futur pour les adultes ?

C’était au visiteur du pavillon Robot Fujipan de décider.

Depuis que le sponsor, une compagnie alimentaire de Nagoya, avait choisi le thème « Les rêves des enfants », l’idée devait être l’enchantement ?

L’extérieur du pavillon ressemblait à une tranche de miche de pain. (Ou, selon de nombreuses personnes, à une étrange chenille)

Quand vous approchiez du pavillon, vous étiez accueilli par un robot. (sauf lorsqu’il pleuvait, dans quel cas le robot vous accueillait à l’intérieur. Quand vous partiez un autre robot vous disait adieu en tamponnant un souvenir de votre visite.

A l’intérieur du bâtiment, c’était réellement le « pays des robots » ! La foret des Robots donnait une histoire compréhensible des robots, avec sons et lumières créant des effets spéciaux. Mécanisme de robot et application étaient expliqué ici.

La ville des Robots vous donnait une chance de s’amuser avec les robots… et une chance de savoir si les robots étaient comme des humains ou si les humains étaient comme des robots. Dans le théâtre, des robots étaient occupés à chanter, à danser, à faire de la musique, jongler et jouer. Il y avait aussi un robot Polaroid qui prenait des photos souvenir. Le plus grand d’entre eux avait plus de 2,5 mètres de hauteur.

Finalement, les robots construisant d’autre robots étaient présentés dans la section le Futur des Robots. Les capsules faisant des robots était l’attraction principale. Et vous donnait la chance d’imaginer les différentes utilisations prochaines pour l’homme de ces robots.

L’harmonie est importante entre les hommes, mais c’est également important entre l’homme et la machine. Le pavillon Robot Fujipan vous donnait quelques idées à propos des différentes sortes d’harmonie.