Back - List of Pavilions

Christianity - Expo Osaka 1970

Christianity at the Exhibition Expo Osaka 1970
© Expo'70
Architect(s) : Akira Inadomi

It was the first union of Catholic and Protestant churches in Japan and as such enjoyed the cooperation of the Vatican.

Under the theme "Eyes and Hands: The Discovery of Humanity", the Christianity pavilion provided the eyes for Expo'70 in discovering the latest conditions of man in the midst of industrial growth, and the hands to serve him.

From the noise and glare of the environment, visitors passed through a zigzag corridor reminiscent of the catacombs and leading to the ground floor of the exhibition. Together with commemorative objects, you could find tapestries by Raphael from the Vatican and other artistic treasures, such as panels of photographs representing the sadness of Japanese life often neglected in a prosperous society and other panels concerning world peace, justice, hunger and poverty. The exhibition awakened us to our common task of serving humanity.

On the floor above, appropriately called "Holly Space", was a multipurpose room, surrounded by religious symbols, which signified the secular world in the light of the Gospel. It was an area where you could, in a saving silence away from the noise and bustle of the exhibition, rediscover your identity as a responsible person.

It was also the place for a dynamic exhibition. Here prayers for peace were offered every day and ecumenical services were held every Sunday. Multi-act plays were written especially for the pavilion, and concerts and organ competitions were held on an organ with bamboo pipes. There was also a "plaza" where participants were free to make their own plans or do informal activities. What a witness, it would be wonderful if this new adventure towards the discovery of humanity travelled around the world from the five exits symbolising the "hands" that serve.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Christianisme


Christianisme à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70
Architecte(s) : Akira Inadomi

C’était la première union des églises catholiques et protestantes au Japon ; en tant que telle, elle bénéficiait de la coopération du Vatican.

Sous le thème « yeux et mains : La découverte de l’humanité », le pavillon du Christianisme fournissait les yeux à l’Expo’70 en découvrant les dernières conditions de l’homme au milieu de la croissance industrielle, et les mains pour le servir.

Du bruit et de l'éblouissement sur l'environnement, les visiteurs passaient à travers un corridor en zigzag rappelant les catacombes et menant au rez-de-chaussée de l’exposition. Ensemble avec des objets commémoratifs, vous pouviez trouver des tapisseries de Raphaël du Vatican et autres trésors artistiques, tel que des panneaux de photographies représentants la tristesse de la vie Japonaise souvent négligée dans une société prospère et d'autres panneaux concernants la paix mondiale, justice, la faim et la pauvreté. L’exposition éveillait en nous à notre tâche commune de servir Humanité.

A l’étage au dessus, opportunément appelé "Holly Space», était une salle polyvalente, entourée de symboles religieux, qui signifiaient le monde séculier dans la lumière de l'Evangile. C’était une zone où vous pouviez, dans un silence salvateur à l’écart du bruit et l’agitation de l’exposition, redécouvrir vous identité comme une personne responsable.

C’était aussi la place pour une exposition dynamique. Ici les prières pour la paix étaient proposées tous les jours et des services œcuméniques étaient organisées tous les dimanches. Des Pièces plusieurs actes avaient été écrites spécialement pour le pavillon, et des concerts et des concours d'organes se déroulaient sur un orgue avec des tuyaux en bambous. Il y avaient aussi une « plaza » où les participants étaient libres d'exercer leurs propres plans ou des activités informelles. Qu'est-ce qu'un témoin, ce serait merveilleux si cette nouvelle aventure vers la découverte de l'humanité voyageait dans le monde entier depuis les cinq sorties symbolisant les «mains» qui servent.