Japan World Exposition - Osaka 1970 - Expo'70

Human progress and harmony

March 15, 1970 - September 13, 1970


Back - List of Pavilions

Switzerland

Switzerland took part in Expo'70 under the theme "Diversity in Harmony". Its participation consisted of a radiant structure, a pavilion for a thematic show, and a restaurant.

The radiant structure symbolised harmony and diversity, as well as "Swiss inventiveness, precision and appreciation of beauty". A steel construction 21 metres high and 55 metres in diameter, it could be compared to a large stylised tree; a solid trunk dividing into branches, and the entire surface was made of aluminium plates.

With 32,000 glass spheres glowing in the sunlight, and shining like light bulbs at night, the tree conveyed an aura of a festive experience by day and night.

Underneath the structure was an air-conditioned zone where electronic music created an atmosphere of joy and relaxation.

An adjacent pavilion featured a themed show, and a restaurant with a kiosk for the sale of Swiss souvenirs. In the exhibition hall, accessible from three sides, the image of a modern Switzerland was presented on 12 floor-to-ceiling column supports. The blues columns presented human and cultural diversity, while the yellow columns showed the diversity of the countryside, and the red and green columns the wide range of the country's economic production.

The restaurant could accommodate 180 guests, and the bar and cocktail room offered visitors the opportunity to discover Swiss gastronomy.

The information department provided information about Switzerland, its geography, languages and culture, science and economy. A richly illustrated 24-page brochure with a disc about Switzerland completed the information.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Suisse


La Suisse à pris part à l’Expo’70 sous le thème « Diversité dans l’harmonie ». Sa participation consistait en une structure radiante, un pavillon pour un show thématique, et un restaurant.

La structure radiante symbolisait l’harmonie et la diversité, aussi bien que « l’inventivité suisse, précision et appréciation de la beauté » . Une construction en acier de 21 mètres de haut et 55 mètres de diamètres, et pouvait être comparé à un grand arbre stylisé ; un tronc solide se divisant en ramifications, et la surface entière était faite de plaques d’aluminium.

Avec 32000 sphères vitrées éclatante à la lumière du soleil, et brillant comme des ampoules électriques la nuit, l’arbre transmettait le jour et la nuit une aura d’une expérience festive.

Sous la structure, ce trouvait une zone climatisée où de la musique l’électronique créait une atmosphère de joie et de relaxation.

Un pavillon adjacent présentait un show thématique, et un restaurant avec un kiosque pour la vente de souvenir helvétiques. Dans le hall d’exposition, accessible de 3 cotés, l’image d’une Suisse moderne était présentée sur 12 supports en forme de colonne qui allaient du sol au plafond. Les colonnes blues présentaient la diversité humaine et culturelle, alors que les colonnes jaunes montraient la diversité de la campagne, et les colonnes rouges et vertes la gamme étendue de la production économique du pays.

Le restaurant pouvait accueillir 180 invités, et le bar et la salle à cocktails offraient au visiteurs l’opportunité de découvrir la gastronomie suisse.

Le département d’information vous informait sur le Suisse, sa géographie, ces langues et sa culture, sa science et l’économie. Un prospectus richement illustré de 24 pages avec un disque sur la Suisse complétait l’information.