Japan World Exposition - Osaka 1970 - Expo'70

Human progress and harmony

March 15, 1970 - September 13, 1970


Back - List of Pavilions

Philippines

Philippines at the Exhibition Expo Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

The Philippine Pavilion exhibition presented the modern Filipino and his institutions. Under the theme of "Progress through Cultural Harmony", the exhibits showed the Philippines in terms of its people and their aspirations, activities and achievements.

The pavilion conveyed its message through idea centres, clusters of photographs, articles and artefacts in artistic arrangements designed to create an atmosphere rather than express facts and figures.

It wove an environment from one idea cluster to another so that an attentive visitor could go through an emotional experience, which made one leave the pavilion feeling that one had met Filipinos at their best.

You entered the exhibition area through an escalator that took you to the first level where you were oriented to the location and position of the country. Descending to the main level, you met the working Filipino in his political system, social milieu and economic enterprises. The basement level gradually led you to the infrastructure of the economy through architecture and introduced you to Filipino arts, literature and music.

On an outdoor stage, a performance troupe demonstrated the evolution of customs, indigenous dance and gong singing and mountain wear, through Muslim institutions and Spanish heritage, with modern dancers and musical virtuosity.

But the great attraction of the pavilion was the Filipino hostesses, fluent in English and Japanese, and radiating Filipino friendliness, hospitality and warmth.

In addition to the main pavilion, which is on Senri Bridge Avenue, the Agriculture Industry Commerce (AIC) centre was set up as a modern Filipino business office that provided information on opportunities in the Philippines.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Philippines


Philippines à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

L'exposition du Pavillon des Philippines présentait le Philippin moderne et ses institutions. Sous le thème du «progrès grâce à l'harmonie des cultures», les objets exposés montraient les Philippines en termes de population et ses aspirations, activités et ses réalisations.

Le pavillon transmettait son message par le biais de centres idée, des grappes de photographies, des articles et des artefacts dans les arrangements artistiques conçus pour créer une atmosphère plutôt que d'exprimer des faits et des chiffres.

Elle tissait un environnement d'un cluster idée à l'autre de sorte qu'un visiteur attentif pouvait passer par une expérience émotionnelle, qui nous faisait quitter le pavillon avec le sentiment que l’on avait rencontré les Philippins à leur meilleur.

Vous entriez dans la zone d’exposition grâce à un escalator qui vous emmenait au premier niveau et où vous étiez orienté vers l'emplacement et la position du pays. Descendre vers le niveau principal, vous rencontriez le Philippin au travail dans son système politique, son milieu social et ses entreprises économiques. Le niveau sous-sol vous conduisait progressivement vers les infrastructures de l'économie à travers l'architecture et vous initiait aux arts Philippins, les lettres et la musique.

Sur une scène extérieure, une troupe de spectacle démontrait l'évolution des mœurs, la danse et le chant de gongs autochtones et l'usure de montagne, à travers des institutions musulmanes et l'héritage espagnol, avec des danseurs modernes et avec la virtuosité musicale.

Mais le grand attrait du pavillon était les hôtesses philippines, familières en anglais et en japonais, et rayonnantes de convivialité, d’hospitalité et de chaleur des Philippines.

Ajouté au pavillon principal, qui est sur « Senri Bridge Avenue », le centre « Agriculture Industrie Commerce » (AIC) était organisé comme un bureau moderne d'affaires Philippin qui renseignait sur opportunités inversement aux Philippines.